
# Question

1

A1 commits a technical foul during the pre-game warm-up. 

Should the technical foul count as one of the team fouls in the 1st 

quarter? 

YES NO

2

A4's shot for a field goal is in the air when the shot clock signal 

sounds. The ball misses the ring and immediately after a held ball 

occurs. Is this a jump ball situation? 

YES NO

3

A2 accidentally scores a field goal in his team's own basket. 

Should Team B's captain on the playing court be awarded 2 

points.?

YES NO

4

During the half-time interval, it is recognised A1's successful 3-

point field goal in the 1st quarter was erroneously recorded as a 2-

point field goal. Should the error be corrected at this time? 

YES NO

5

During a time-out, a substitute becomes a player when the 

referee beckons the substitute to enter the playing court. Is this 

statement correct?

YES NO

6

A6 requests a substitution for A1 whilst he is taking a free-throw. 

Before A1's last free throw, B6 and B7 request the substitution for 

B1 and B2. A1's last free throw is successful. Are all substitutions 

permitted to take place at this time? 

YES NO

7

A1 commits his 5th foul. Before the foul is reported to the scorer, 

A1 commits a technical foul. The technical foul shall be entered to 

A1's name as his 6th foul. A1's technical foul shall count as one of 

the team fouls. Is this the correct procedure? 

YES NO

8
If a player is in control the ball, his team is also in control the ball. 

Is this statement correct? 
YES NO

9
In case of a last free throw, the game clock shall start when the 

ball touches the ring. Is this statement correct? 
YES NO

10
During an half-time interval, does a substitute have to inform the 

table officials that they wish to start the 3rd quarter?
YES NO

11

A10 requests the substitution for A4. Before a referee has 

beckoned A10 to enter the playing court, A4 commits a technical 

foul. Shall A4's technical foul be considered as a player foul?

YES NO

12

During the 1st quarter, the scorer erroneously awards 2 points to 

the wrong team. The error is recognised during the half-time 

interval. Can the error be corrected at this time? 

YES NO
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13

With 2:09 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, while the game is 

playing, team A head coach requests its first time-out in the 

second half. With 1:58 on the game clock the ball goes out-of-

bounds and the game clock is stopped. Team A head coach 

request for the time-out is now granted. After the time-out, does 

team A have only 1 time-out remaining? 

YES NO

14
The 3-point field goal shall be entered on the scoresheet by 

drawing a circle around the player's number. Is this correct?
YES NO

15

If an injured player receives treatment, he must be substituted 

unless the team is reduced to less than 5 players on the playing 

court. Is this statement correct?

YES NO

16

Team B head coach is charged with his 1st technical foul and later 

with a 2nd technical foul, both because of the behaviour of team 

B's first assistant coach. Later in the game, team B's head coach 

commits a 3rd technical foul for his personal unsportsmanlike 

behaviour. Team B's head coach is disqualified. Should Team B's 

first assistant coach act as the new team B head coach? 

YES NO

17
During a time-out, must A8 request a substitution at the scorer's 

table if he wishes to enter the game?
YES NO

18

A1's shot for a field goal is in the air when the game clock signal 

sounds for the end of the 3rd quarter. While the ball still in the air, 

A4 commits an unsportsmanlike foul. Did A4's unsportsmanlike 

foul occur during an interval of play? 

YES NO

19

A6 arrives 3 minutes before the beginning of the game. Is he 

permitted to participate in the game as long as his name is on the 

scoresheet? 

YES NO

20

A1 commits a technical foul during the pre-game warm-up with 5 

minutes before the beginning of the game. Team A's head coach 

did not indicate A1 as one of the starting 5 players. Should A1's 

technical foul count as one of the team fouls in the 1st quarter? 

YES NO

21

A1's shot for a field goal is in the air when A3 and B3 commit a 

double foul. The ball enters the basket. Should the game be 

resumed with an alternating possession arrow throw-in?

YES NO

22

In the case of any discrepancy between the scoreboard and the 

scoresheet which cannot be resolved, the scoreboard shall take 

precedence and the scoresheet shall be corrected accordingly. Is 

this statement correct? 

YES NO

23

The game ends with the score A 90 - B 89. Before the crew chief 

has signed the scoresheet, the scorer realises that team B should 

have been awarded 2 additional points. Should the error be 

corrected and the final score be changed? 

YES NO

24

A4's shot for a field goal is in the air when the shot clock signal 

sounds. The ball lodges between the ring and the backboard. Is 

this a jump ball situation? 

YES NO

25

During A2's alternating possession throw-in, A1 is charged with a 

foul for an illegal screen. Do Team A lose its right to the 

alternating possession throw-in? 

YES NO
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The substitute shall request a substitution by going to the scorer's 

table making the substitution signal with the hands or by sitting 

on the substitution chair. Is this the correct procedure? 

YES NO

27
A1 commits his 2nd technical foul during the game. Should A1 be 

disqualified from the game? 
YES NO

28

A2 commits his 2nd unsportsmanlike foul in the game. A2 

requests to remain on the bench for the remainder of the game. 

Should A2's request be permitted? 

YES NO

29
In terms of the team foul penalty situation, the overtime is the 

continuation of the 4th quarter. Is this statement correct? 
YES NO

30

During an interval of play between the 1st and 2nd quarter, B6 

disrespectfully addresses a referee. Should Team B's head coach 

be charged with a technical foul recorded as 'B'?

YES NO

31

10 minutes before the beginning of the game, a technical foul is 

charged on B5 who is not listed as one of team B's 5 players to 

begin the game. Should the foul be charged on team B's head 

coach? 

YES NO

32

A1 appears to have an injured ankle and the game is stopped. 

Team A first assistant coach enters the playing court and treats A1. 

Is A1 permitted to remain in the game? 

YES NO

33
A3 deliberately scores a field goal in his team’s basket. Shall A3's 

goal count? 
YES NO

34

With 1:32 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A1 scores a field 

goal. Team B is granted a substitution. Team A head coach 

requests a time-out. Should the time-out be granted? 

YES NO

35

A6 enters the game as a substitute for A3. Before the game clock 

starts, A6 commits a technical foul. This is A6's 5th foul. A3 is the 

only team A substitute available. May A3 re-enter the game at this 

time? 

YES NO

36

With 1:27 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A1 scores a field 

goal. B10 requests the substitution. Can Team A now substitute 3 

players? 

YES NO

37

Team A is reduced to 5 players when A4 gets injured. Team A 

doctor has treated A4 who is now ready to continue play. Should 

A4 be substituted?

YES NO

38
When the ball is dead, the game clock must be always stopped. Is 

this statement true? 
YES NO

39
Does a referee blow his whistle when a successful free throw is 

made? 
YES NO

40
With 1:46 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A3 scores a field 

goal. May either team be granted a time-out? 
YES NO

41
Each team is entitled to a maximum of 1 time-out in each of the 

first 3 quarters. Is this statement correct? 
YES NO

42

A1 is awarded 2 free throws. After the first free throw the referees 

discover that B3 is bleeding. B3 is substituted by B6. Team A's 

head coach requests to substitute more than 1 player. Shall the 

request be accepted?

YES NO

43
Are the penalties for a technical foul the same for a player and a 

head coach? 
YES NO
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During an interval of play, player/coach A1 is charged with a 

technical foul for his unsportsmanlike behaviour. A technical foul 

is entered in the scoresheet as A1's player foul, counting also as 

one of the team A fouls in the following quarter. Is this the correct 

procedure? 

YES NO

45

Before A1's alternating possession throw-in ended, A2 commits an 

unsportsmanlike foul. Should Team A be entitled to the next 

alternating possession throw-in? 

YES NO

46

Team B has committed 4 team fouls in the 4th quarter. The game 

ends with the score tied. In the overtime, B4 fouls A4 who is not in 

the act of shooting. Shall A4 be awarded 2 free throws? 

YES NO

47

B4 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A5 who is not in the act 

of shooting. Before the ball becomes live for A5's 1st free throw, A4 

commits a technical foul. The 2 penalties cancel each other. The 

arrow favours team B. The game shall be resumed with a team B 

throw-in. Is this correct? 

YES NO

48

Both teams have started to play the 2nd half in the wrong 

direction. A1 accidentally scores a field goal in his team's basket. 

Should Team B's captain who is sitting on the team bench shall 

be awarded 2 points? 

YES NO

49

A4 is fouled in the act of shooting. The ball does not enter the 

basket. A4 then commits a technical foul. This is A4's 5th foul and 

he must leave the game. Team A's head coach designates the 

new free-throw shooter from amongst the players who were on 

the playing court when A4's foul occurred. Is this procedure 

correct? 

YES NO

50
The game clock shall be stopped during the game whenever a 

field goal is made. Is this statement correct? 
YES NO

51 An AS cannot be given on a shot from the back court. TRUE FALSE
52 The player that takes a charge on an offensive foul is given a ST. TRUE FALSE

53
If a player passes the ball and it goes straight out of bounds, then 

a Passing TO is given.
TRUE FALSE

54
Where the wrong player takes free-throws, the referee cancels the 

shots.  Therefore both are recorded as FTAs.
TRUE FALSE

55 An uncontrolled tip at the basket that scores is a FGM. TRUE FALSE
56 An FGM can be PITP, POT, SCP and FBP. TRUE FALSE

57
An FGA and TOFF/TDEF is given where a player is fouled after the 

shot.  
TRUE FALSE

58
The ST is given to the first defender to touch the ball on a change 

of possession. 
TRUE FALSE

59
After an FGA, when the ball goes out of bounds before any player 

gains control, the OFF/DEF is given to the closest player.
TRUE FALSE

60 POTs opportunity finishes when a timeout is called. TRUE FALSE

61
The first player to take control of the ball in a rebounding situation 

is given the OFF/DEF.
TRUE FALSE

62 A BS can be given after the ball touches the rim. TRUE FALSE

63
Where there is a shot clock violation before the rebound then no 

rebound will be given.
TRUE FALSE

64

A player that control tips the ball to a team-mate who shoots 

without dribbling and scores, they should be given an OFF and 

AS.

TRUE FALSE
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An FGA that touches the floor before a player gains control is 

recorded as an ST to the first player to touch the ball.
TRUE FALSE

66
Every time a player catches the ball without a defender in front of 

them and goes on to score, an AS should be given.
TRUE FALSE

67 All missed FTAs must have a rebound. TRUE FALSE

68
An AS can be given if the scorer catches and does not shoot 

straight away.
TRUE FALSE

69
If a player catches the ball in the key and then goes onto score, it 

is always an AS.
TRUE FALSE

70 5 second violations are always team TOs. TRUE FALSE
71 SCPs cannot be POTs. TRUE FALSE
72 An 8 second violation is always a team TO. TRUE FALSE

73
On the last free-throw, if the shot misses and the violation is by 

the offensive team, then an FTA and TDEF is given.
TRUE FALSE

74
An ST is always given when there is a TO recorded and the ball 

remains live. 
TRUE FALSE

75 A bench Technical foul always results in a team TO. TRUE FALSE
76 An FGM is given if the shooter is fouled and the shot is made. TRUE FALSE
77 All POTs are FBPs. TRUE FALSE
78 POTs must occur within 10 seconds of the TO. TRUE FALSE

79
If a player catches the ball in the key and makes a post move 

before scoring without leaving the key, it is always an AS.
TRUE FALSE

80
Where a player is fouled whilst shooting and the referee judges 

the foul was after the shot, no FGA is given.
TRUE FALSE

81
All shooting fouls may have an AS, if the player that was fouled 

was passed the ball.
TRUE FALSE

82 Shooting free-throws does not make the foul a shooting foul. TRUE FALSE
83 A ST can be given to a player that does not touch the ball. TRUE FALSE
84 An on-court 5 second violation is given as an individual TO. TRUE FALSE
85 When a BS takes place, there is no rebound to record. TRUE FALSE

86
An FGA is given if the shooter is fouled in the act of shooting and 

misses.
TRUE FALSE

87 There is no rebound on a missed first shot of a set of free-throws. TRUE FALSE

88
At the end of the quarter, an FGA should be recorded if it was 

released before the buzzer.
TRUE FALSE

89
Passes into the post where the scorer catches the ball outside the 

key are always an AS.
TRUE FALSE

90
An AS can be given to both the penultimate and final pass to the 

scorer.
TRUE FALSE

91
On the last free-throw, when there is a violation by anyone except 

the shooter, if the shot goes in then an FTA and TDEF is given.
TRUE FALSE

92 A shooting foul is when the player is in the act of shooting. TRUE FALSE

93
When the ball goes dead on a TO situation, a ST can never be 

given.
TRUE FALSE

94
When a player is blocked, the ball must leave the shooters hand 

to be an FGA.
TRUE FALSE

95 If a player does a spin dribble to score, then no AS can be given. TRUE FALSE

96
In a fast break situation, to give an AS, the scorer must receive the 

ball in the front court before attacking the basket.
TRUE FALSE
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Where the wrong player takes free-throws, the referee cancels the 

shot.  Therefore the shots must be deleted and a team TO 

recorded.

TRUE FALSE

98 The passer is always responsible for a TO. TRUE FALSE
99 An FGA is given when the shooter commits an offensive foul. TRUE FALSE
100 Every ST must have a corresponding TO. TRUE FALSE


