
NBL PRE-SEASON officiating TEST - REFEREES
# Question Answer

1
10 minutes before the start of the game, a technical foul is charged on B5 who is not listed as 1 of team B's 5 players to 

start the game. Is the foul charged and entered on the scoresheet against the team B head coach?
YES / NO

2
After a dribble, A5's shot for a goal touches the ring. A5 rebounds the ball before another player has touched the ball. Shall 

A5 be entitled to start a new dribble?
YES / NO

3 When the ball is dead, the game clock must always be stopped. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

4

A1's shot for a goal is in the air when the shot clock signal sounds. The ball then lodges between the ring and the 

backboard. As the arrow favours team A, it is a shot clock violation by team A and Team B shall be awarded a throw-in. Is 

this statement correct?

YES / NO

5
A1 in the backcourt passes the ball towards the frontcourt. The ball bounces and rolls on the court in the frontcourt 

without any player touching the ball. The 8-second period expires. Should an 8-second violation be called against team A?
YES / NO

6
A1 commits a technical foul during the pre-game warm-up. Is the correct way to start the game by Team B shooting 1 free 

throw with no line-up, followed by the opening jump ball in the centre circle?
YES / NO

7
Immediately after the ball is legally tapped by jumper A1, the ball is caught by A1. Team B is awarded a throw-in as a result 

of the violation. After the inbound, the possession arrow shall be in favour of team B. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

8
The 3-second rule only applies when a team is in control of a live ball in their frontcourt and the game clock is running. Is 

this statement correct?
YES / NO

9
When the ball comes to the strong side post, should the lead referee prepare for a possible drive to the basket by taking a 

few steps wider (cross step)?
YES / NO

10

With 10 seconds remaining on the shot clock, thrower-in A1 passes the ball towards the basket and it lodges between the 

ring and the backboard. This is a jump ball situation. The arrow favours team A. Should the shot clock be reset to 24 

seconds?

YES / NO

11
B1 fouls dribbler A1. This is the 2nd team B foul in the quarter. A2 and B2 then commit a double foul. This is both teams' 3rd 

foul in the quarter. Is this a jump ball situation?
YES / NO

12 Thrower-in A4 hands the ball to A5 who is on the court. Is this a legal play by team A? YES / NO

13
A1 dribbles, loses their balance and steps out-of-bounds without touching the ball. A1 returns to the court and then 

continues the dribble. Is this a legal play by A1?
YES / NO

14
A1 is awarded a throw-in, instead of 2 free throws. Thrower-in A1 passes the ball on the court to A2 who scores a goal. The 

error is recognised at this time. Shall the error be corrected at this point?
YES / NO

15

B2 establishes an initial legal guarding position on dribbler A2. B2 then moves laterally to maintain a legal guarding 

position when A2 makes contact against B2's torso and dislodges the defender. Shall A2 be charged with an offensive 

foul?

YES / NO

16 If the ball touches the back of the backboard it has gone out-of-bounds. Is this statement correct? YES / NO



17 A4 illegally returns the ball to the backcourt. As a result, should Team B be awarded a throw-in from their frontcourt? YES / NO

18 A2 in the frontcourt dribbles moving backwards. The ball bounces on the halfway line. Is this a backcourt violation by A2? YES / NO

19 A4 and B4 commit technical fouls for disrespectfully communicating with each other. Is this a double foul? YES / NO

20
At all times the active referee administering the throw-in should check the shot clock to be sure it is set correctly. This 

must be done before the referee passes the ball to the thrower-in. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

21
A1's shot for a goal is in the air when the shot clock signal sounds. After the signal, the ball is touched by B1 on its upward 

flight. The ball misses the ring and no immediate control is established. Is this a shot clock violation by team A?
YES / NO

22
A3 is closely guarded for 4 seconds by B1. A3 starts the dribble while still guarded by B1 for a further 4 seconds. Is this a 

legal play by A3?
YES / NO

23
B2 commits a double dribble violation. Before the ball is at the disposal of thrower-in A3, A5 commits a technical foul. Is 

this a team control foul?
YES / NO

24
Thrower-in A1 passes the ball to A2. The ball touches a referee out-of-bounds before it is caught by A2 on the court. Is this 

a violation by team A?
YES / NO

25

A1 in the frontcourt passes the ball to A2. B5 deflects the ball which returns to team A's backcourt. Both B5 and A1 are 

running to catch the ball when A1 makes contact laterally against B5. There are no opponent players between B5 and the 

basket. Is the referee correct in calling an unsportsmanlike foul against A1?

YES / NO

26
A5's last free throw rebounds from the ring while still having a possibility to enter the basket. B5 touches the ball on the 

downward flight and the ball enters the basket. Should Team A's captain on the court be awarded 2 points?
YES / NO

27 During transition, should the new Lead be ahead of the play and arrive at the baseline in four seconds or less? YES / NO

28 A3 with the ball in their hands is closely guarded by B2. Must B2 give A3 sufficient space to pivot? YES / NO

29 A player who has committed their 5th foul must be substituted within 15 seconds. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

30

A1 is in the act of shooting for a 3-point goal when B1 commits an unsportsmanlike foul against A1. The ball does not enter 

the basket. Shall A1 be awarded only 2 free throws and team A receive a throw-in from the throw-in line in their 

frontcourt?

YES / NO

31 A1 is holding the ball when the shot clock signal sounds in error. The ball is still live. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

32
With 0.2 seconds on the game clock in the 2nd quarter, A3 is awarded 1 free throw. The ball rebounds from the ring. A4 

catches the ball and attempts a jump shot. The ball enters the basket. Shall A4's goal count?
YES / NO

33
On the last unsuccessful free throw, a violation committed by the free throw shooter takes precedence over the violations 

by an opponent. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

34
In a charge/block situation, B1 establishes a legal guarding position and then moves forwards and contact with A3 occurs. 

Is B1 responsible for the contact?
YES / NO



35
A1 passes the ball to A2. The ball is deflected by B1 who is running after the ball to catch it. Does Team A have control of 

the ball at this time?
YES / NO

36 Team A is granted a time-out. While moving to their team bench, A1 pushes B1. Shall A1 be charged with a technical foul? YES / NO

37 Shall the referee blow the whistle when the game clock signal sounds for the end of the quarter? YES / NO

38

Team B's head coach is charged with a technical foul for the behaviour shown by the first assistant coach. Later in the 

game, team B's head coach is charged with the 2nd technical foul for an action of the same first assistant coach. Later in 

the game, team B's head coach is charged with 3rd technical foul for their own personal unsportsmanlike behaviour and 

is now game disqualified. Shall Team B first assistant coach replace the head coach as the team B head coach?

YES / NO

39

With 1:31 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, thrower-in A1 has the ball at their disposal. B2 makes illegal contact with A2 

on the court before the ball is released. The referee calls a throw-in foul against B2. Shall A2 be awarded 2 free throws as a 

result of the throw-in foul?

YES / NO

40

A1 holding the ball in front of their body with elbows and arms extended, excessively swings their elbow towards B1 who is 

standing outside of A1's cylinder. A1 is not rotating within their cylinder and no contact with B1's occurs. Is the referee 

correct in calling a technical foul against A1 for excessively swinging their elbows?

YES / NO

41
Both teams have started to play the 2nd half in the wrong direction. A1 accidentally scores a goal in their own basket. 

Should the Team B captain who is sitting on the team bench be awarded the 2 points?
YES / NO

42
A6 substitute is disqualified for verbally abusing the referee. Shall A6's disqualifying foul be entered on the scoresheet as 

'D' and against the head coach as 'B2'?
YES / NO

43 Is it the Crew Chief who is responsible for tossing the jump ball from a position facing the scorer’s table? YES / NO

44
A4's shot for a goal touches the backboard and it is completely above the level of the ring. B4 then touches the ball in an 

attempt to block the shot. Is this a goaltending violation by B4?
YES / NO

45 B1 fouls A1 on the shot for a 3-point goal. The ball does not enter the basket. Shall A1 be awarded 3 free throws? YES / NO

46
If an injured player cannot continue to play immediately (within approximately 15 seconds), that player must be 

substituted unless the team is reduced to fewer than 5 players on the court. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

47 Is a time-out considered as an interval of play? YES / NO

48 In case of a throw-in, shall the game clock and the shot clock start simultaneously? YES / NO

49
With 18 seconds on the shot clock, A2's pass to A3 is deliberately kicked by B1 in Team A's frontcourt. Shall the shot clock 

remain on 18 seconds?
YES / NO

50
A1's unsuccessful shot rebounds from the ring when the shot clock signal sounds in error. Should the referee stop the 

game and call a jump ball situation?
YES / NO

51
During an offensive rebound, A1 taps the ball to A2 who is in the backcourt. Are the referees correct in calling a backcourt 

violation against team A?
YES / NO



52
Thrower-in A1 straddles the centre line to begin the 2nd quarter and passes the ball to A2. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, 

catches the ball in the air and lands straddling the centre line. Is this a legal play by team A?
YES / NO

53 During transition, should the new Trail always arrive in front court before the ball (in front of the play)? YES / NO

54

A captain has signed the scoresheet in the column 'Captain's signature in case of protest'. The crew chief, the umpires and 

the table officials must remain in the building until the crew chief gives them permission to leave. Is this statement 

correct?

YES / NO

55

With 1:58 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A1 dribbles in the frontcourt when B1 taps the ball to team A backcourt 

where A3 starts to dribble. B2 fouls A3 in team A's backcourt with 6 seconds on the shot clock. This is the 3rd team B foul 

in the quarter. Team A is granted a time-out. If team A head coach decides to resume the game with a throw-in from their 

frontcourt throw-in line, should team A have 6 seconds left on the shot clock?

YES / NO

56
During the interval of play between the 1st and 2nd quarter, A10 is charged with a technical foul. Shall A10's technical foul 

count as 1 of the team fouls in the following quarter and 1 of A10's 5 personal fouls?
YES / NO

57
With 7 seconds on the game clock and 3 seconds on the shot clock, B1 in the backcourt deliberately kicks the ball. Should 

the shot clock be switched off for the remainder of the quarter?
YES / NO

58

With 0:58 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, B1 fouls A1 in the backcourt. This is the 3rd team B foul in the quarter. 

Team A has 19 seconds on the shot clock. Team A is granted a time-out. If after the time-out, team A head coach decides 

for a throw-in to be administered from the throw-in line in the frontcourt, should the shot clock remain on 19 seconds for 

team A?

YES / NO

59
Close to the end of a time-out, substitute A6 reports to the table officials but does not report to a referee. Is this the 

correct procedure by A6?
YES / NO

60 Team B first assistant coach requests a time-out. Shall the time-out be granted? YES / NO

61 During a rebound, A1 hangs on the basket with 1 hand and scores with the other hand. Is this a legal play by A1? YES / NO

62 During the game, any player who is bleeding must be substituted. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

63
In case of a time-out, shall the timer start the stopwatch immediately when the referee blows the whistle and gives the 

time-out signal?
YES / NO

64
A4's shot for a goal is in the air when B5 fouls A5. This is the 3rd team B foul in the quarter. The ball enters the basket. A4's 

goal shall count. Shall the game be resumed with a team A throw-in?
YES / NO

65
During an interval of play between the 1st and 2nd quarter, A1 and B1 commit disqualifying fouls. Shall the second quarter 

start according to the alternating possession arrow?
YES / NO

66 The ball enters the basket on a free throw. Does the ball become dead at this time? YES / NO

67
The 2nd quarter can start even if one or both teams have less than 5 players available to play due to injuries and 

disqualifications. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

68 Is the halfway line part of the frontcourt? YES / NO



69 An unsportsmanlike foul shall always involve a player's contact with an opponent. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

70
A3 shoots for a 2 point field goal when B1 commits a goaltending violation. The goal shall count for 2 points. Team A head 

coach now requests a time-out. Shall the time-out be granted?
YES / NO

71 The ball becomes dead when the shot clock signal sounds. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

72

A5 holding the ball is closely guarded by B5. B4 also comes to guard A5 and establishes an initial guarding position inside 

A5's cylinder. A5 attempts a normal basketball play and contacts B4 against the torso. Should this be called as a defensive 

foul against B4?

YES / NO

73
With 5 seconds on the shot clock, A1 dribbles when A2 and B1 commit technical fouls. Shall the game be resumed with a 

team A throw-in and 5 seconds on the shot clock?
YES / NO

74
A1 attempts a shot from the 3-point goal area. The ball on its upward flight is legally touched by B1 who is in the team A 2-

point goal area. The ball enters the basket. Shall A1 be awarded 2 points?
YES / NO

75 Shall the game clock and the shot clock be operated by 2 different people? YES / NO

76

With 0:55 on the game clock in the 1st quarter, A1 commits a travelling violation in the frontcourt. Team B is granted a 

time-out. The game shall be resumed with a team B throw-in from the throw-in line in its frontcourt. Is this statement 

correct?

YES / NO

77
Team A doctor commits a disqualifying foul. Should the scorer enter this on the scoresheet against team A head coach as 

'GD'?
YES / NO

78
A1's shot for a goal touches the ring. A2 rebounds the ball and the shot clock sounds in error 9 seconds later. When 

restarting the game, should the shot clock be reset to 5 seconds for team A?
YES / NO

79
During the opening jump ball, the ball touches the court without being touched by either jumper. Should the jump ball 

be repeated? 
YES / NO

80

A4 dribbles in the frontcourt when a fighting situation on the court starts. A7, A8 and B9 are disqualified for leaving the 

team bench area. No further fouls are charged. The game shall be resumed with a team A throw-in from the centre line 

extended, opposite the scorer’s table.

YES / NO

81 When guarding a player with the ball, shall the "elements of time and distance" apply? YES / NO

82
A4 in the backcourt passes the ball to A5 in the frontcourt. The ball is in the air above the frontcourt. Does the ball have 

frontcourt status at this time?
YES / NO

83
A2's made basket is cancelled because of a travelling violation. Team B shall be awarded a throw-in from behind the end 

line. Is this the correct procedure?
YES / NO

84 In case of a protest, is it the head coach who should sign the scoresheet? YES / NO

85
A1 receives the ball in the air. A1 returns to the court with both feet simultaneously. Is A1 permitted to use either foot as 

their pivot foot?
YES / NO



86 A1 is setting a screen on B1. Must A1 be facing B1 for the screen to be considered legal? YES / NO

87
A4 in their act of shooting charges into B3. After A4's foul is called, A4 continues the act of shooting. The ball enters the 

basket. A referee calls a team control foul. A4's goal shall count. Is this correct?
YES / NO

88 When the throw-in is on the frontcourt’s endline the Trail should never give the “time-in” signal. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

89
Instead of team A, a throw-in is erroneously awarded to team B. The game resumes and the error is recognised before the 

next dead ball. The error shall be corrected as soon as it is recognised. Is this the correct procedure?
YES / NO

90
With 1:50 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A4 scores a goal. A10 and B10 request a substitution. Shall both 

substitutions be granted at this point? 
YES / NO

91
Team A has 11 players listed on the scoresheet. After the game has started, team A head coach requests that player A12 be 

added to the scoresheet. Can this request be granted?
YES / NO

92

A1's shot for a goal is in the air when A2 and B2 commit a double foul. The ball enters the basket. Team A has 2 team fouls 

and team B has 3 team fouls in the quarter. The penalties cancel and the game shall be resumed with a jump ball. Is this 

statement correct?

YES / NO

93
No team B players occupy the first rebound place during A1's last free throw. A1 misses the free throw. Shall A1 be awarded 

a substitute free throw as a result of this?
YES / NO

94 During a fight, is the first assistant coach permitted to leave the team bench area to assist in restoring order? YES / NO

95
With 10 seconds on the shot clock, A1 dribbles in the frontcourt when a held ball occurs. The arrow favours team A. Should 

the shot clock operator reset to 14 seconds for team A?
YES / NO

96
Free-throw shooter A1 commits a violation during the last free throw. A time-out can be granted to either team at this 

point. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

97

The score is A 86 - B 86. After the game clock signal sounds for the end of the 4th quarter, A4 commits an 

unsportsmanlike foul against B3. The referees consult each other and decide that the foul has occurred after the end of 

playing time. A4's foul shall be disregarded. Is this the correct outcome?

YES / NO

98

A time-out opportunity has just ended when team A head coach runs to the scorer's table, loudly requesting a time-out. 

The timer erroneously sounds the signal. A referee blows the whistle and interrupts the game. Shall the time-out now be 

granted?

YES / NO

99
B2 claps their hands loudly close to A1's face, who is in the act of shooting for a goal. The ball does not enter the basket. 

Shall B2 be charged with a technical foul?
YES / NO

100
A3 is setting a screen outside the field of vision of B2 who is stationary on the court. Must A3 give B2 sufficient space if B2 

starts to move?
YES / NO


