
NBL PRE-SEASON OFFICIATING TEST - STATISTICIANS
# Question Answer

1 Is a 5 second violation always a team TO? YES / NO

2
During A2's alternating possession throw-in, A1 is charged with a foul for an illegal screen. Do Team A lose its right to the 

alternating possession throw-in?
YES / NO

3
A2 accidentally scores a field goal in their team's own basket. Should Team B's captain on the playing court be awarded 2 

points.?
YES / NO

4 Is an offensive foul also an individual TO? YES / NO

5 Can an AS can be given to both the penultimate and final pass to the scorer? YES / NO

6
A6 requests a substitution for A1 whilst he is taking a free-throw. Before A1's last free throw, B6 and B7 request the 

substitution for B1 and B2. A1's last free throw is successful. Are all substitutions permitted to take place at this time?
YES / NO

7
With 1:32 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A1 scores a field goal. Team B is granted a substitution. Team A head coach 

requests a time-out. Should the time-out be granted?
YES / NO

8

A1 commits a technical foul during the pre-game warm-up 5 minutes before the beginning of the game. Team A's head 

coach did not indicate A1 as one of the starting 5 players. Should A1's technical foul count as one of the team fouls in the 

1st quarter?

YES / NO

9
During the 1st quarter, the scorer erroneously awards 2 points to the wrong team. The error is recognised during the half-

time interval. Can the error be corrected at this time?
YES / NO

10
Team B has committed 4 team fouls in the 4th quarter. The game ends with the score tied. In the overtime, B4 fouls A4 

who is not in the act of shooting. Shall A4 be awarded 2 free throws?
YES / NO

11 Is an 8 second violation always a team TO? YES / NO

12 Is an FGA given when the shooter commits an offensive foul? YES / NO

13 Is an FGM given if the shooter is fouled and the shot is missed? YES / NO

14 A shooting foul can have an AS, if the player that was fouled was passed the ball. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

15 SCPs cannot be POTs. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

16
If a player catches the ball in the key and does not leave and then goes on to score, it is always an AS. Is this statement 

correct?
YES / NO

17 Is a player that takes a charge on an offensive foul given a ST? YES / NO

18 All POTs are FBPs. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

19
Before A1's alternating possession throw-in ended, A2 commits an unsportsmanlike foul. Should Team A be entitled to the 

next alternating possession throw-in?
YES / NO



20
In a held ball situation where a change of possession takes place, should a TO always be recorded against the player 

holding the ball?
YES / NO

21
If a player catches the ball from a pass whilst in the key and makes a post move before scoring without leaving the key, is 

it always an AS?
YES / NO

22

A4 is fouled in the act of shooting. The ball does not enter the basket. A4 then commits a technical foul. This is A4's 5th 

foul and he must leave the game. Team A's head coach designates the new free-throw shooter from amongst the players 

who were on the playing court when A4's foul occurred. Is this procedure correct?

YES / NO

23 If the wrong player takes a free throw, the referee will cancel the shot. Should this still be recorded as FTA? YES / NO

24
During the half-time interval, it is recognised A1's successful 3-point field goal in the 1st quarter was erroneously recorded 

as a 2-point field goal. Should the error be corrected at this time?
YES / NO

25 The 3-point field goal shall be entered on the scoresheet by drawing a circle around the player's number. Is this correct? YES / NO

26 A1 commits their 2nd technical foul during the game. Should A1 be disqualified from the game? YES / NO

27 An FGA and TOFF/TDEF are given when a player is fouled after the shot. YES / NO

28 Must all missed FTAs have a rebound? YES / NO

29
A2 commits their 2nd unsportsmanlike foul in the game. A2 requests to remain on the bench for the remainder of the 

game. Should A2's request be permitted?
YES / NO

30 Is an ST always given when there is a TO recorded and the ball remains live? YES / NO

31 When a BS takes place, there is no rebound to record. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

32 Shooting free throws does not make the foul a shooting foul. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

33
Both teams have started to play the 2nd half in the wrong direction. A1 accidentally scores a field goal in their team's 

basket. Should Team B's captain who is sitting on the team bench shall be awarded 2 points?
YES / NO

34 During the half-time interval, does a substitute have to inform the table officials that they wish to start the 3rd quarter? YES / NO

35 Is an uncontrolled tip at the basket that scores a FGM? YES / NO

36
10 minutes before the beginning of the game, a technical foul is charged on B5 who is not listed as one of team B's 5 

players to begin the game. Should the foul be charged on team B's head coach?
YES / NO

37 Can an FGM be PITP, POT, SCP and FBP? YES / NO

38 In terms of the team foul penalty situation, the overtime is the continuation of the 4th quarter. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

39 When a player is blocked, the ball must leave the shooter's hand to be an FGA. Is this statement correct? YES / NO



40
A1's shot for a field goal is in the air when A3 and B3 commit a double foul. The ball enters the basket. Should the game be 

resumed with an alternating possession arrow throw-in?
YES / NO

41 Is a 5 second violation for a player being closely guarded given as an individual TO? YES / NO

42 With 1:46 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A3 scores a field goal. May either team be granted a time-out? YES / NO

43 If the wrong player takes a free throw, the referee will cancel the shot. Should you delete the shot and record a team TO? YES / NO

44 Must a shot be a layup to be recorded as PITP? YES / NO

45 Does a bench Technical foul always result in a team TO? YES / NO

46
A4's shot for a field goal is in the air when the shot clock signal sounds. The ball lodges between the ring and the 

backboard. Is this a jump ball situation?
YES / NO

47 Can an AS be given on a shooting foul if no free throws are made? YES / NO

48 Can an ST be given to a player that does not touch the ball? YES / NO

49
A player that control tips the ball to a team-mate who shoots without dribbling and scores, should be given an OFF and 

AS. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

50 Each team is entitled to a maximum of 1 time-out in each of the first 3 quarters. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

51 In case of a last free throw, the game clock shall start when the ball touches the ring. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

52 POTs opportunity finishes when a timeout is called. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

53 Is there a rebound on a missed first shot of a set of free throws? YES / NO

54
A1 appears to have an injured ankle and the game is stopped. Team A first assistant coach enters the playing court and 

treats A1. Is A1 permitted to remain in the game?
YES / NO

55 When the ball goes dead in a TO situation, an ST can never be given. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

56 Where there is a shot clock violation before the rebound then no rebound will be given. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

57
During a time-out, a substitute becomes a player when the referee beckons the substitute to enter the playing court. Is 

this statement correct?
YES / NO

58
If a player controlled tips the ball in a rebounding situation to their teammate who catches the ball, is the player who tips 

the ball given the OFF/DEF?
YES / NO

59 When the ball is dead, the game clock must be always stopped. Is this statement true? YES / NO

60 Can a BS be given after the ball touches the rim? YES / NO



61 If a player is in control of the ball, their team is also in control of the ball. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

62 Is the player who is contacted in a PF is given the FD. YES / NO

63 Can an AS be given on a shot from the backcourt? YES / NO

64 Are the penalties for a technical foul the same for a player and a head coach? YES / NO

65 On the last free throw, if the shot misses and the violation is by the offensive team, should you record an FTA and TDEF? YES / NO

66

During an interval of play, player/coach A1 is charged with a technical foul for their unsportsmanlike behaviour. A technical 

foul is entered in the scoresheet as A1's player foul, counting also as one of the team A fouls in the following quarter. Is this 

the correct procedure?

YES / NO

67 A3 deliberately scores a field goal in their team’s basket. Shall A3's goal count? YES / NO

68

With 2:09 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, while the game is playing, team A head coach requests its first time-out 

in the second half. With 1:58 on the game clock, the ball goes out-of-bounds and the game clock is stopped. Team A head 

coach's request for the time-out is now granted. After the time-out, does team A have only 1 time-out remaining?

YES / NO

69 Must every ST have a corresponding TO? YES / NO

70 POTs must occur within 10 seconds of the TO. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

71

B4 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A5 who is not in the act of shooting. Before the ball becomes live for A5's 1st free 

throw, A4 commits a technical foul. The 2 penalties cancel each other. The arrow favours team B. The game shall be 

resumed with a team B throw-in. Is this correct?

YES / NO

72
With 1:27 on the game clock in the 4th quarter, A1 scores a field goal. B10 requests the substitution. Can Team A now 

substitute 3 players?
YES / NO

73
An FGA that touches the floor before a player gains control is recorded as an ST to the first player to touch the ball. Is this 

statement correct?
YES / NO

74
A6 enters the game as a substitute for A3. Before the game clock starts, A6 commits a technical foul. This is A6's 5th foul. 

A3 is the only team A substitute available. May A3 re-enter the game at this time?
YES / NO

75
In a fast break situation, to give an AS, the scorer must receive the ball in the frontcourt before attacking the basket. Is this 

statement correct?
YES / NO

76
During an interval of play between the 1st and 2nd quarter, B6 disrespectfully addresses a referee. Should Team B's head 

coach be charged with a technical foul recorded as 'B'?
YES / NO

77 If a player passes the ball and it goes straight out of bounds, should you record a Bad Pass TO? YES / NO

78 Do you record an FGA if the shooter is fouled in the act of shooting and misses? YES / NO

79
After an FGA, when the ball goes out of bounds before any player gains control, is the OFF/DEF given to the closest 

player?
YES / NO

80 At the end of the quarter, if a shot is released before the buzzer should you record a FGA? YES / NO



81 If a player does a spin dribble to score, then no AS can be given. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

82
On the last free-throw, when there is a violation by anyone except the shooter, if the shot goes in then an FTA and TDEF 

are given. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

83
A1 commits a technical foul during the pre-game warm-up. Should the technical foul count as one of the team fouls in the 

1st quarter?
YES / NO

84
If an injured player receives treatment, he must be substituted unless the team is reduced to less than 5 players on the 

playing court. Is this statement correct?
YES / NO

85
A10 requests the substitution for A4. Before a referee has beckoned A10 to enter the playing court, A4 commits a technical 

foul. Shall A4's technical foul be considered as a player foul?
YES / NO

86
A6 arrives 3 minutes before the beginning of the game. Is he permitted to participate in the game as long as their name is 

on the scoresheet?
YES / NO

87 Can an AS be given if the scorer catches and does not shoot straight away? YES / NO

88 Are passes into the post where the scorer catches the ball outside the key always an AS? YES / NO

89

A1 commits their 5th foul. Before the foul is reported to the scorer, A1 commits a technical foul. The technical foul shall be 

recorded against A1's name as their 6th foul. A1's technical foul shall count as one of the team fouls. Is this the correct 

procedure?

YES / NO

90 The game clock shall be stopped during the game whenever a field goal is made. Is this statement correct? YES / NO

91
A4's shot for a field goal is in the air when the shot clock signal sounds. The ball misses the ring and immediately after a 

held ball occurs. Is this a jump ball situation?
YES / NO

92
A1 is awarded 2 free throws. After the first free throw, the referees discover that B3 is bleeding. B3 is substituted by B6. 

Team A's head coach requests to substitute more than 1 player. Shall the request be accepted?
YES / NO

93
Team A is reduced to 5 players when A4 gets injured. Team A doctor has treated A4 who is now ready to continue play. 

Should A4 be substituted?
YES / NO

94 During a time-out, must A8 request a substitution at the scorer's table if he wishes to enter the game? YES / NO

95 Is the passer always responsible for a TO? YES / NO

96 Is a shooting foul only recorded when the player is in the act of shooting? YES / NO

97

Team B's head coach is charged with a technical foul for the behaviour shown by the first assistant coach. Later in the 

game, team B's head coach is charged with the 2nd technical foul for an action of the same first assistant coach. Later in 

the game, team B's head coach is charged with 3rd technical foul for their own personal unsportsmanlike behaviour and 

is now game disqualified. Shall Team B first assistant coach replace the head coach as the team B head coach?

YES / NO

98
A1's shot for a field goal is in the air when the game clock signal sounds for the end of the 3rd quarter. While the ball is still 

in the air, A4 commits an unsportsmanlike foul. Did A4's unsportsmanlike foul occur during an interval of play?
YES / NO

99 Can POTs occur off any type of TO? YES / NO

100 Is the ST given to the first defender to touch the ball on a change of possession? YES / NO


