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BASKETBALL

ENGLAND

Pre-Season Rules Test Questions - Statisticians

Where not specified in the question, Al - A5 are the players on the playing court from the offensive team, A6 -

AT2 are the substitutes or excluded players from the offensive team. B1 - B5 are the players on the playing
court from the defensive team, B6 - B12 are the substitutes or excluded players from the defensive team.

Questions are based on OBR 2024 v1.0a, OBRI 2024 v1.0a, IOT Manual v2.5 and FIBA Statisticians Manual 2024.

# Question YES NO
If A5, one of the starting five players, is injured 5 minutes before the start and is

1 replaced by A6, should Team B be allowed to substitute two of its starting five players YES NO
as well?

5 If A2 scores and then A4 and B4 commit technical fouls, should play resume with a VES NO
team B throw-in from the endline?

. If A6 enters the court during a fight but doesn't participate, should A6 still be VES NO
disqualified?
If Bl commits a violation during Al's last free throw, can B6 substitute for B2

4 . . YES NO
immediately after?

s If A4 fouls B3 and B3 retaliates and is given a disqualifying foul by the referee, should VES NO
B6 shoot 2 free throws followed by A4's 2, with team A resuming possession?

6 |Can a player/coach who fouled out continue coaching as head coach? YES NO

7 |If Al's throw-in lodges between the ring and backboard, is this a jump ball situation? YES NO

s Can a head coach request and be granted a time-out immediately after their team VES NO
scores?
If A4 and B3 commit unsportsmanlike fouls on each other in the same sequence,

9 YES NO

should the penalties cancel?




If B4 commits a disqualifying contact foul against A4 causing injury, may any team A

10 . YES NO
player attempt the 2 free throws after A10 substitutes for A4?

1 Does the ball become dead when the game clock signal sounds to end the quarter VES NO
while the ball is in the air on a pass?
If B1 fouls Al with 1:45 left in the 4th quarter and it's the 5th team foul, and Team A is

- erroneously awarded a throw-in, then B1 fouls A2 before the error is recognised, VES NO
should A2 be awarded 2 free throws without line-up and Al then be awarded 2 free
throws, with the game resuming as after any last free throw?

- Should a head coach be disqualified from the game if charged with 2 technical fouls VES NO
for personal unsportsmanlike behaviour?

14 [Can a team have a maximum of 10 players? YES NO

15 |Can a player or head coach directly request a time-out to one of the referees? YES NO

16 |Is the basket that a team defends considered its own basket? YES NO

17 If players wear incorrect jersey numbers not matching the scoresheet, should the VES NO
numbers be corrected with no sanction?

18 If B4 fouls A4 on a successful shot and it's the 6th team foul, should the goal count VES NO
and A4 be awarded 2 free throws?

19 If team A commits a technical foul before an alternating possession throw-in, does VES NO
team B gain possession at the next jump ball?

20 |When Al's throw-in touches a referee on court, should the game clock start? YES NO

. If a team A accompanying delegation member, notices a scoring error at half-time, VES NO
should the crew chief verify if it's correctable?

2 If multiple fouls and violations occur (3-second, unsportsmanlike, technical), and the VES NO
arrow favours team B, can all penalties be cancelled with no free throws awarded?

23 |Does an offensive foul count as one of the team fouls? YES NO

s If A6 substitutes for Al and Al disrespects a referee while leaving, can Al receive a VES NO
technical foul that counts toward team fouls?
Should a 5th personal foul be considered a disqualifying foul requiring the player to

5 P qualifying q g play VES NO

leave the game?




If a player is erroneously awarded 2 FTs instead of a throw-in and scores, should the

26 . : . . . YES NO
points be cancelled if the error is recognised early in Q2?

> If B5 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A3 and A4 commits a technical foul while VES NO
A3 holds the ball for the 1st free throw, should the two penalties cancel each other?

28 With 0.2 seconds on the game clock, can a player only score by tapping or dunking VES NO
the ball from the inbound pass?

29 |[Is the penalty for a technical foul the same for both players and head coaches? YES NO
If A4 and B4 commit technical fouls for disrespectful communication, is it a double

30 YES NO
foul?

- If team A's assistant coach is disqualified for involvement in a fight and there are no VES NO
other penalties, should team B shoot 4 FTs with no line-up and get the ball?
If a coach is disqualified for leaving the bench and failing to assist referees during a

32 [fight, should any team B player shoot 2 free throws with no line-up, and the game YES NO
resume with team B throw-in?

33 |Can only a substitute request a substitution? YES NO

34 |Must player numbers be placed on both the front and back of the shirt? YES NO

35 |Should 6 players from each team be on the court during playing time? YES NO

36 |Is a pre-game conference important for teamwork and consistency in officiating? YES NO

37 |If a head coach treats an injured Al on court, must Al be substituted? YES NO

8 If Al dribbles when team A head coach commits a technical foul and Al and B1 both VES NO
commit technical fouls, does team B lose possession due to Bl's technical foul?
If Team A has only one eligible player left after A1l commits the fifth personal foul, can

39 YES NO

they continue playing with just one player?




If Al has the ball during a throw-in with 0:53 in the 4th quarter and A2 fouls B2, is this

40 . YES NO
considered a team A control foul?
If during the Ist quarter the scorer erroneously awards 2 points to the wrong player

41 |and the error is recognised between the st and 2nd quarter, can the error be YES NO
corrected at that time?

“ If team B's fifth foul occurs and team A is erroneously given a throw-in, should the VES NO
error be corrected if discovered after A2 has dribbled?

43 If Alis injured and substituted by A6, but recovers before the time-out ends, can Al re- VES NO
enter the game?

” If B1 fouls Al and it's the fifth team foul, and Team A is erroneously awarded a throw- VES NO
in from which they score, should the error be corrected if discovered at half time?

45 If A4 in the backcourt gains control of the ball after a legal jump ball tap and VES NO
accidentally scores in their own basket, should the goal count?

4G If A1l commmits a technical foul before the game, should team B receive a free throw VES NO
and a throw-in at the centre line?

47 If B1 fouls Al and Al makes illegal elbow contact simultaneously, can this be called a VES NO
double foul with personal and unsportsmanlike penalties?

48 |ls basketball played by 2 teams of 5 players each? YES NO

49 |Must a player's number be on their shorts? YES NO
If A2 mistakenly scores a free throw awarded to A5 after a time-out and the error is

50 [recognised at the next dead ball, should A2's free throw be cancelled and the game YES NO
resume with a team B throw-in?

51 |Canan FGM be PITP, POT, SCP and FBP? YES NO

52 [|lsan ST always given when there is a TO recorded and the ball remains live? YES NO

53 |[Can an AS can be given to both the penultimate and final pass to the scorer? YES NO

54 [Must a shot be a layup to be recorded as PITP? YES NO

os If a player passes the ball and it goes straight out of bounds, should you record a Bad VES NO
Pass TO?

6 On the last free throw, if the shot misses and the violation is by the offensive team, VES NO
should you record an FTA and TDEF?

7 If a player does a spin dribble to score, then no AS can be given. Is this statement VES NO

correct?




If a player controlled tips the ball in a rebounding situation to their teammate who

58 . . ) YES NO
catches the ball, is the player who tips the ball given the OFF/DEF?

59 |Isan FGM given if the shooter is fouled and the shot is missed? YES NO

60 |Is an 8 second violation always a team TO? YES NO

&l Where there is a shot clock violation before the rebound then no rebound will be VES NO
given. Is this statement correct?
When a player is blocked, the ball must leave the shooter's hand to be an FGA. Is this

62 YES NO
statement correct?

63 |Is a player that takes a charge on an offensive foul given a ST? YES NO

64 |Must all missed FTAs have a rebound? YES NO

65 |All POTs are FBPs. Is this statement correct? YES NO

66 |Can a BS be given after the ball touches the rim? YES NO

67 |Is a5 second violation for a player being closely guarded given as an individual TO? YES NO
Shooting free throws does not make the foul a shooting foul. Is this statement

68 YES NO
correct?
When the ball goes dead in a TO situation, an ST can never be given. Is this statement

69 YES NO
correct?

70 |Is a shooting foul only recorded when the player is in the act of shooting? YES NO
Are passes into the post where the scorer catches the ball outside the key always an

71 YES NO
AS?

72 |ls an uncontrolled tip at the basket that scores a FGM? YES NO

- If the wrong player takes a free throw, the referee will cancel the shot. Should this still VES NO
be recorded as FTA?
A shooting foul can have an AS, if the player that was fouled was passed the ball. Is

74 . YES NO
this statement correct?

75 |POTs must occur within 10 seconds of the TO. Is this statement correct? YES NO
At the end of the quarter, if a shot is released before the buzzer should you record a

76 YES NO
FGA?

77 |Does a bench Technical foul always result in a team TO? YES NO

78 |ls there a rebound on a missed first shot of a set of free throws? YES NO

79 [Can an AS be given if the scorer catches and does not shoot straight away? YES NO

80 |Is a5 second violation always a team TO? YES NO

81 |Isthe ST given to the first defender to touch the ball on a change of possession? YES NO

a2 On the last free-throw, when there is a violation by anyone except the shooter, if the VES NO
shot goes in then an FTA and TDEF are given. Is this statement correct?

83 |POTs opportunity finishes when a timeout is called. Is this statement correct? YES NO

84 If a player catches the ball in the key and does not leave and then goes on to score, it VES NO
is always an AS. Is this statement correct?

as If a player catches the ball from a pass whilst in the key and makes a post move VES NO
before scoring without leaving the key, is it always an AS?

86 After an FGA, when the ball goes out of bounds before any player gains control, is the VES NO
OFF/DEF given to the closest player?

87 |Is an FGA given when the shooter commits an offensive foul? YES NO




88 |Must every ST have a corresponding TO? YES NO

89 [Can an AS be given on a shot from the backcourt? YES NO

90 In a fast break situation, to give an AS, the scorer must receive the ball in the VES NO
frontcourt before attacking the basket. Is this statement correct?

91 |Do you record an FGA if the shooter is fouled in the act of shooting and misses? YES NO

9 An FGA that touches the floor before a player gains control is recorded as an ST to the VES NO
first player to touch the ball. Is this statement correct?

93 If the wrong player takes a free throw, the referee will cancel the shot. Should you VES NO
delete the shot and record a team TO?

94 |SCPs cannot be POTs. Is this statement correct? YES NO

95 |When a BS takes place, there is no rebound to record. Is this statement correct? YES NO

96 |[Is the passer always responsible for a TO? YES NO

97 [Can an ST be given to a player that does not touch the ball? YES NO

98 A player that control tips the ball to a team-mate who shoots without dribbling and VES NO
scores, should be given an OFF and AS. Is this statement correct?

99 [Can POTs occur off any type of TO? YES NO

100 The stats team shall be made up of one inputter, one caller and on occasion a VES NO

backup. Is this correct?




