
# Question YES NO

1 Is a pre-game conference important for teamwork and consistency in officiating? YES NO

2 Can a player or head coach directly request a time-out to one of the referees? YES NO

3
With 0.2 seconds on the game clock, can a player only score by tapping or dunking 

the ball from the inbound pass?
YES NO

4

If A5, one of the starting five players, is injured 5 minutes before the start and is 

replaced by A6, should Team B be allowed to substitute two of its starting five players 

as well?

YES NO

5
If the team A head coach remains seated during the game, is the first assistant coach 

permitted to stand?
YES NO

6
If A8 reports to the timer during a time-out, does A8 become a player once the time-

out ends?
YES NO

7

If a fight starts and A7, A8, and B9 are disqualified for leaving the bench while A4 is 

dribbling, should the game resume with a team A throw-in from the nearest spot to 

where the ball was?

YES NO

8
Should the scorer prepare the scoresheet at least 30 minutes before the game is 

scheduled to start?
YES NO

9
If A4 throws the ball against the backboard and dunks without dribbling, is this a 

violation?
YES NO

10
If the ball has left the free-throw shooter's hands and a referee whistles for a violation 

by a rebounder, does the ball become dead at that time?
YES NO

11

If a coach is disqualified for leaving the bench and failing to assist referees during a 

fight, should any team B player shoot 2 free throws with no line-up, and the game 

resume with team B throw-in?

YES NO

                    Pre-Season Rules Test Questions - Table Officials

Where not specified in the question, A1 - A5 are the players on the playing court from the offensive team, A6 - 

A12 are the substitutes or excluded players from the offensive team. B1 - B5 are the players on the playing 

court from the defensive team, B6 - B12 are the substitutes or excluded players from the defensive team.

Questions are based on OBR 2024 v1.0a, OBRI 2024 v1.0a, IOT Manual v2.5, 3PO Manual v2.0, Table Official 

Mechanics Manual v6.5. These are all available with FIBA iRef Library Academy App.



12

If team B's head coach commits a technical foul while A1 is dribbling in the backcourt, 

should the game resume after the free throw with a team A throw-in and a reset shot 

clock to 24 seconds?

YES NO

13
If B5 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A3 and A4 commits a technical foul while 

A3 holds the ball for the 1st free throw, should the two penalties cancel each other?
YES NO

14
If a shooter commits a violation during the last free throw, can a time-out still be 

granted to either team?
YES NO

15
If A1 dribbles when team A head coach commits a technical foul and A1 and B1 both 

commit technical fouls, does team B lose possession due to B1's technical foul?
YES NO

16
If a team A accompanying delegation member, notices a scoring error at half-time, 

should the crew chief verify if it's correctable?
YES NO

17
If a player is erroneously awarded 2 FTs instead of a throw-in and scores, should the 

points be cancelled if the error is recognised early in Q2?
YES NO

18 Must a player's number be on their shorts? YES NO

19

A1 shoots with 20 seconds remaining on the shot clock and the ball touches the ring, 

then B1 touches the ball and A2 gains control, should the shot clock be reset to 14 

seconds for team A?

YES NO

20

If the game clock malfunctions and has no visible display after a throw-in with 2:44 

left in the 1st quarter, and referees stop the game with 15 seconds on the shot clock, 

should the error be corrected?

YES NO

21
Should the scorer reverse the alternating possession arrow every time the ball is 

legally touched after an alternating possession arrow throw-in?
YES NO

22

If A2 mistakenly scores a free throw awarded to A5 after a time-out and the error is 

recognised at the next dead ball, should A2's free throw be cancelled and the game 

resume with a team B throw-in?

YES NO

23
If A6 enters the court during a fight but doesn't participate, should A6 still be 

disqualified?
YES NO

24 Are throw-in lines only marked opposite the scorer's table? YES NO

25
If A1 has the ball during a throw-in with 0:53 in the 4th quarter and A2 fouls B2, is this 

considered a team A control foul?
YES NO



26
If a team in control commits a technical foul, should the shot clock reset to 24 

seconds?
YES NO

27
If the shot clock is erroneously reset after A1's shot misses the ring and A3 scores from 

the rebound, should A3's goal be cancelled if the error is discovered at that time?
YES NO

28
Should a head coach be disqualified from the game if charged with 2 technical fouls 

for personal unsportsmanlike behaviour?
YES NO

29
If B1 fouls A1 and A1 makes illegal elbow contact simultaneously, can this be called a 

double foul with personal and unsportsmanlike penalties?
YES NO

30
Is the shot clock operator responsible for operating the clock in line with shot clock 

rules?
YES NO

31
If team A requests a time-out before the throw-in following two made free throws, 

should the time-out be granted?
YES NO

32
If multiple fouls and violations occur (3-second, unsportsmanlike, technical), and the 

arrow favours team B, can all penalties be cancelled with no free throws awarded?
YES NO

33
If team A's assistant coach is disqualified for involvement in a fight and there are no 

other penalties, should team B shoot 4 FTs with no line-up and get the ball?
YES NO

34
If A6 substitutes for A1 and A1 disrespects a referee while leaving, can A1 receive a 

technical foul that counts toward team fouls?
YES NO

35 Must player numbers be placed on both the front and back of the shirt? YES NO

36 Is the team's head coach the one to sign the scoresheet in case of protest? YES NO

37 Should 6 players from each team be on the court during playing time? YES NO



38
If A4 fouls B3 and B3 retaliates and is given a disqualifying foul by the referee, should 

B6 shoot 2 free throws followed by A4's 2, with team A resuming possession?
YES NO

39
Should there be a maximum of 4 table officials: scorer, assistant scorer, timer, and 

shot clock operator?
YES NO

40
Does the timer indicate to referees by raising the GD foul marker when a player has 1 

technical foul and 1 double foul?
YES NO

41

If B1 fouls A1 with 1:45 left in the 4th quarter and it's the 5th team foul, and Team A is 

erroneously awarded a throw-in, then B1 fouls A2 before the error is recognised, 

should A2 be awarded 2 free throws without line-up and A1 then be awarded 2 free 

throws, with the game resuming as after any last free throw?

YES NO

42
If A1 recovers during a time-out taken by either team before the timer's signal for 

substitution, must A1 still be substituted?
YES NO

43
If A2 scores and then A4 and B4 commit technical fouls, should play resume with a 

team B throw-in from the endline?
YES NO

44
Does the timer indicate to the referees, by raising the GD foul marker, when a player 

has been given a direct disqualifying foul by the referees?
YES NO

45
If A4 is injured and the game is stopped, and after 30 seconds the coach wants to 

keep A4 in, must A4 still be substituted?
YES NO

46

If B1 taps the ball out-of-bounds while A1 is dribbling in the backcourt, and B2 deflects 

A3’s throw-in, should the 8-second period continue from the time B2 touches the 

ball?

YES NO

47
If B1 commits an unsportsmanlike foul against dribbler A1, should A1 receive 2 free 

throws and team A possession at the center line?
YES NO

48
If team A commits a technical foul before an alternating possession throw-in, does 

team B gain possession at the next jump ball?
YES NO

49
Does the ball become live during a throw-in when it's at the disposal of the thrower-

in?
YES NO

50

If during the 1st quarter the scorer erroneously awards 2 points to the wrong player 

and the error is recognised between the 1st and 2nd quarter, can the error be 

corrected at that time?

YES NO



51
If B1 fouls A1 and it's the fifth team foul, and Team A is erroneously awarded a throw-

in from which they score, should the error be corrected if discovered at half time?
YES NO

52
If B4 fouls A4 on a successful shot and it's the 6th team foul, should the goal count 

and A4 be awarded 2 free throws?
YES NO

53 Should there be 3 distinct, loud sound signals for the shot clock operator and timer? YES NO

54
If B1 commits a violation during A1's last free throw, can B6 substitute for B2 

immediately after?
YES NO

55
In the last two minutes, if B2 fouls A3 in the backcourt with 17 seconds on the shot 

clock, should team A retain 17 seconds after choosing a frontcourt throw-in?
YES NO

56
If A4 in the backcourt gains control of the ball after a legal jump ball tap and 

accidentally scores in their own basket, should the goal count?
YES NO

57 Is the timer responsible for measuring playing time, time-outs, and intervals of play? YES NO

58
If A1 appears to have an injured ankle and the game is stopped, and the Team A 

manager treats A1 on the court, must A1 be substituted?
YES NO

59 Does an offensive foul count as one of the team fouls? YES NO

60
If Team A has only one eligible player left after A1 commits the fifth personal foul, can 

they continue playing with just one player?
YES NO

61
If A1 is injured and recovers within 15 seconds after an assistant coach enters, must A1 

still be substituted?
YES NO

62

When handling a double foul, should the officials report the foul to both benches, 

show how the game will continue with either a throw-in direction or jump ball 

situation and throw-in direction?

YES NO

63

If an off-ball foul occurs by Team B in Team A's frontcourt while A1's shot is in the air 

and the basket is made, should the game resume with team A throw-in and 14 

seconds?

YES NO

64
If A4 and B4 commit technical fouls for disrespectful communication, is it a double 

foul?
YES NO

65

If A1's shot lodges between the ring and the backboard with 4 seconds left on the 

shot clock and the arrow favours team A, should team A receive a throw-in with a 

new 24 second period?

YES NO



66
If A1 commits a technical foul before the game, should team B receive a free throw 

and a throw-in at the centre line?
YES NO

67
If B4 is injured and the game is stopped at team A's time-out request, and B4 

recovers, must B4 still be substituted?
YES NO

68
If the game is stopped for a wet floor during a backcourt throw-in, should the game 

resume from the frontcourt throw-in line?
YES NO

69 Should the assistant scorer operate the alternating possession arrow? YES NO

70

If a double foul occurs with 4 seconds on the shot clock while A1's shot is in the air 

and does not go in, and the arrow favours team A, should the shot clock be reset to 

24 seconds for team A?

YES NO

71
If A1 and B1 start a fight on the court, should both be charged with a technical foul 

and noted as 'Tc'?
YES NO

72 Does the ball become dead immediately when it enters the basket on a free throw? YES NO

73
If A4 and B3 commit unsportsmanlike fouls on each other in the same sequence, 

should the penalties cancel?
YES NO

74

If both team A's head coach and assistant coach are disqualified for leaving the 

bench and not helping referees during a fight, should their disqualifications be 

recorded as 'D' and 'D2', 'F', 'F'?

YES NO

75 If a head coach treats an injured A1 on court, must A1 be substituted? YES NO

76
If A1's shot hits the ring and team A regains control, should the shot clock reset to 24 

seconds?
YES NO

77 Can only a substitute request a substitution? YES NO

78 Should the game clock always stop when the ball becomes dead? YES NO

79 If A1's throw-in lodges between the ring and backboard, is this a jump ball situation? YES NO

80 Is the penalty for a technical foul the same for both players and head coaches? YES NO

81
Does the ball become dead when the game clock signal sounds to end the quarter 

while the ball is in the air on a pass?
YES NO



82
If B4 commits a disqualifying contact foul against A4 causing injury, may any team A 

player attempt the 2 free throws after A10 substitutes for A4?
YES NO

83
Can team B request a time-out after the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in, and 

should it be granted?
YES NO

84
If team B's fifth foul occurs and team A is erroneously given a throw-in, should the 

error be corrected if discovered after A2 has dribbled?
YES NO

85
Should the timer start the time-out clock immediately when a referee blows the 

whistle and signals for a time-out?
YES NO

86
If A1 is injured and substituted by A6, but recovers before the time-out ends, can A1 re-

enter the game?
YES NO

87
Can a head coach request and be granted a time-out immediately after their team 

scores?
YES NO

88
If team B commits its 2nd foul and the shot clock shows 3 seconds, should the clock 

remain at 3 seconds for team A?
YES NO

89 Is the basket that a team defends considered its own basket? YES NO

90 When A1's throw-in touches a referee on court, should the game clock start? YES NO

91 Must there be only 14 seats available in each team's bench area? YES NO

92 Is basketball played by 2 teams of 5 players each? YES NO

93
If players wear incorrect jersey numbers not matching the scoresheet, should the 

numbers be corrected with no sanction?
YES NO

94 Can a player/coach who fouled out continue coaching as head coach? YES NO

95
Is it permissible for the table officials and the commissioner to arrive at the scorer's 

table after the referees have entered the court?
YES NO

96
If a shot lodges between ring and backboard with 15 seconds on the shot clock, and 

arrow favours team B, should the shot clock reset to 24?
YES NO

97
Should the shot clock continue if a defensive player allows the ball to come to rest in 

one hand and no new team control is established?
YES NO

98
If A4’s shot is in the air when the shot clock signal sounds, and the ball misses the 

ring and B4 gains clear control, is this considered a team A shot clock violation?
YES NO

99
Should a 5th personal foul be considered a disqualifying foul requiring the player to 

leave the game?
YES NO



100 Can a team have a maximum of 10 players? YES NO


