Academy Leagues Structures Confirmed for 2018/19

Basketball England is delighted to release the Academy Leagues structures for the 2018/19 season!

The Elite Academy Basketball League (EABL) will have 18 teams competing for the coveted EABL trophy, with 4 new teams in Alec Reed Academy (ABL champions in 2018), SEEVIC College, The Sheffield College and Newcastle Eagles Academy all entering the league.

The Women’s Elite Academy Basketball League (WEABL) will be increasing to a 12 team league in 2018/19, with Itchen College and The Sheffield College both coming on board.

In the Academy Basketball League (ABL), the structure has been slightly reduced to 37 teams. More vigorous assessments of existing academies have been carried out to ensure the league remain as competitive as possible. A number of new teams will be taking part this year, including West Thames College, Allerton High, John Leggott College Wolves Basketball, Hartlepool 6th form College, Birmingham Metropolitan College, New City College, Harris Academy- St. Johns Wood, West London College and V16 Colchester College Basketball Academy.

Alec Reed’s inclusion in this season’s EABL structure is part of a research project which will provide Basketball England with the opportunity to test the effectiveness of European Youth competition on domestic performance within the EABL. Alec Reed and now Myerscough are the only institutions/clubs that compete in the European Youth Basketball League (EYBL) and this season long study will include quantitative measures (statistical data) and qualitative data (player surveys) to gauge impact.

It is hoped that the findings from this project will help provide evidence for increasing access and frequency to European competition as part of a new Talent System. At present there is only anecdotal evidence in this area and a more robust overview is needed.

The EABL and WEABL are the premier junior basketball competition in the UK, featuring the top Under-19 programmes in the country. Both competitions continue to go from strength to strength and after an amazing season, positive changes are being brought into force with an increased number of fixtures for each team. The Finals event will once again be a showpiece for Basketball England.

Originally launched in September 2010, the EABL and WEABL were designed to provide elite school’s competition and development for Advanced Apprenticeship in Sporting Excellence (AASE) athletes. Weekly competition thoroughly supports the needs of potential elite athletes by giving them the opportunity to test their skills at the highest level possible during the academic calendar.

In partnership with AoC Sport, the ABL was created in the 2015-16 season and offers a high level of competition for non-AASE institutions who prioritise basketball but who are not currently AASE accredited.

A full breakdown of the senior leagues is available using the button below.

Fixtures will also be announced in the coming weeks.