Britain name 14 for FIBA World Cup Qualifiers

British Basketball have announced a 14 man roster for their remaining FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 Qualifying Games against Estonia and Israel, the first of which will take place later this month.

Captain Kieron Achara will lead the team for what will be his 100th appearance in GB colours if called upon in the Estonia game, 10 years on from his first appearance. He was Scotland's youngest-ever debutant and will now join a growing list of centurions in the British game. Fellow Glasgow Rocks star Gareth Murray, who also starred for Scotland in their run to the bronze medal game at the Commonwealth Games in April, will be part of the squad to take to the Rocks' home court of the Emirates Arena in Glasgow. 

Other returning regulars such as Dan Clark, Eric Boateng, Teddy Okereafor and Gabe Olaseni are back in the lineup along with Ryan Richards and Mo Soluade.

BBL MVP of the season Justin Robinson receives a call-up while also included are three graduates from Great Britain's U20 team who were promoted to Division A in the FIBA European Championships last summer. 

Carl Wheatle made his senior debut in the run-up to EuroBasket 2017, while 6'4 guard Josh Steel was selected for the outline roster for Britain's previous two qualifiers against Israel and Greece. There is also a first place for Chigwell's Akwasi Yeboah.

First up for Great Britain are Estonia on Friday 29th June, while Israel complete the First Round of World Cup qualifiers on Monday 2nd July. Both games will tip off at 7.30pm. GB enter camp this weekend intent on reaching the Second Round of qualifying, with two home wins. 

Head Coach Alberto Lorenzo said, "We are looking forward to the prospect of welcoming Estonia and Israel for two vitally important games on our home court. With Kieron likely to make his 100th appearance in Great Britain colours, this is going to be a very special occasion."

The top three teams from Group H (currently led by Greece) will join the top three qualifiers from Group G in the Second Round of qualifying, which begins in September. 

With Greece looking set to go through as Group winners, it looks as if only two from Estonia, Israel and Great Britain will secure passage on the road to China 2019. With much of the key action to take place in Glasgow, fans are advised to move quickly to reserve their seats.

Squad in full:

0 Abodunrin Gabriel Olaseni 6'11 Centre
1 Will Saunders 6'7 Forward
4 Mo Soluade 6'4 Guard
5 Teddy Okereafor 6'4 Guard
7 Josh Steel 6'5 Guard
8 Tarik Phillip 6'3 Guard
9 Ryan Richards 6'10 Forward
10 Dan Clark 6'9 Forward
11 Gareth Murray 6'9 Forward
13 Eric Boateng 6'10 Centre
15 Akwasi Yeboah 6'6 Guard/Forward
20 Kieron Achara 6'10 Forward
24 Carl Wheatle 6'5 Forward
25 Justin Robinson 6'2 Guard