GB name squad for upcoming World Cup qualifiers with Greece and Estonia

Great Britain have named their squad for their opening FIBA World Cup 2019 qualifiers against Greece, to be played in Leicester next week and Estonia in Tallinn on November 27th.

The fifteen man roster is the first to be announced by incoming Head Coach Tony Garbelotto and contains nine of the team who competed at FIBA EuroBasket 2017. 

Captain Kieron Achara, Dan Clark, Andrew Lawrence and Eric Boateng are among the regular and familiar names to return to GB colours.

Other veterans of Istanbul - Gabe Olaseni, who was named as the tournament's most efficient player, Luke Nelson, Gareth Murray, Teddy Okereafor and Kofi Josephs - are back too, but there are also significant introductions.

After missing out on EuroBasket thanks to a knee injury, Biella forward Carl Wheatle is once more among the senior international ranks. 

6'5 forward Myles Hesson returns for his first Great Britain appearance since 2015, while UCAM Murcia forward Ovie Soko is also there.

Will Saunders and Robert Gilchrist are recalled, after helping Great Britain qualify in 2016 for EuroBasket, but making his GB debut is 6'3 guard Tarik Phillip in his first season in professional basketball, after graduating at West Virginia.

Head Coach Tony Garbelotto said, "I am keen to get started on the new era for British Basketball. This promises to be an exciting few days working with some very talented players, which will showcase the increasing depth within the British game."

Performance Director Mark Clark said, "Thanks again go to our players for showing their commitment to the international cause. We hope to give them the best possible preparation for these two important games."

Tickets for the Greece game are selling quickly before an expected white-hot atmosphere inside the Leicester Arena, with both teams strongly represented in the stands.

Israel are also in Group H, with all four teams playing home away over the course of the season. Britain's remaining home games against Estonia and Israel will be staged at Glasgow's Emirates Arena on Friday June 29th and Monday July 2nd next year. 

The top three from Group H will qualify for the Second Phase which will be played during the 2018-2019 season, before the FIBA World Cup 2019 Finals takes place in China.

GB 15-player squad in full:

Kieron AcharaGlasgow Rocks

Eric BoatengSaint Vallier Basket Drome (FRA)

Dan ClarkGipuzkoa Basket (ESP)

Robert GilchristUnattached

Myles HessonUnattached

Kofi JosephsGlasgow Rocks

Andrew LawrenceSigal Prishtina (KOS)

Gareth MurrayGlasgow Rocks

Luke NelsonReal Betis Energia Plus (ESP)

Teddy OkereaforGS Kymis (GRE)

Gabe OlaseniMontakit Fuenlabrada (ESP)

Tarik PhillipSzolnoki Olajbanyasz KK (HUN)

Will SaundersCambados CIdade Europea Do Vino (ESP)

Ovie SokoUCAM Murcia (ESP)

Carl WheatleAngelico Biella (ITA)