Preliminary list of changes announced for 2019/20 NBL competitions

As a result of our research into the competitions currently on offer across the country, it has become apparent that there is a need to thoroughly review the framework of competitive basketball which takes place in England to ensure that players’ experiences are being optimised, relevant to their age and stage of development, whilst also taking into account geographic location and the affordability of our game.

As a part of the new Competitions' Game Plan due to be released in the coming weeks and a three-year plan for Competitions as a whole, Basketball England have prioritised the NBL competitions as a ‘Year One’ priority to address a number of factors. These include improvements to standards, the creation of new playing opportunities by reviewing competitive levels across the game (and matching playing abilities accordingly), easing fixture congestion, reducing travel and supporting the needs of competitions when it comes to amateurs playing in the sport.

The proposed changes to the NBL for the 2019/20 season can be viewed using the button below.

Feedback on these changes is ongoing and will be finalised early next week. This feedback process is currently being undertaken through existing NBL clubs and their Team Secretaries. If you are an NBL, WNBL or Jnr. NBL Team Secretary and you have not received an email about providing feedback on these changes, please use the button at the bottom of this page to contact the NBL Department. 

Once we have collated all feedback, the finalised list of changes for the 2019/20 season will be announced and NBL Entry Forms for the 2019/20 season will follow.

For all new teams wishing to join the NBL for the 2019/20 season, please contact your Regional Talent Manager for an initial discussion regarding your club and the reasons you have for wanting to enter the NBL. No application to join the NBL will be accepted until this step has taken place.

The contact details of the 10 Basketball England Regional Talent Managers are as follows:

West Midlands - Danny Williams - Danny.Williams@basketballengland.co.uk            

East - Michael Ball - Michael.Ball@basketballengland.co.uk   

North West - Nick Ibberson - Nick.Ibberson@basketballengland.co.uk               

South East - Adam Davies - Adam.Davies@basketballengland.co.uk  

Yorkshire - Rob Saipe - Rob.Saipe@basketballengland.co.uk       

South West - Ben Roper - Ben.Roper@basketballengland.co.uk      

East Midlands - Martin Ford - Martin.Ford@basketballengland.co.uk    

South - Matt Johnson - Matt.Johnson@basketballengland.co.uk

London - Dominic Ng -  Dominic.Ng@basketballengland.co.uk       

North East - Ian MacLeod - Ian.Macleod@basketballengland.co.uk