Senior Structure Confirmed for 2018/19 NBL Season

Basketball England is delighted to release the senior structure for the 2018/19 NBL season!

The NBL continues to go from strength to strength and after a healthy consultation period with our clubs, positive changes are being brought into force. The league and Finals events received significant investment last season and that will also continue going forward.

16 new teams have joined the NBL for the upcoming year, we wish them all the best of luck!

NBL Division One will contain 14 teams, welcoming NBL Division Two league winners Nottingham Hoods as well as D2M playoff champions Thames Valley Cavaliers, who finished 2nd in the regular season.

WNBL Division One will be a 12 team league with Women’s National Cup winners Ipswich along with Sevenoaks Suns II moving up. Last season’s D1W regular season winners Essex Blades have left the NBL to participate in the WBBL as Essex Rebels.

“We are looking forward to another great season in 2018/19 and it’s pleasing to see so many new teams entering the league, particularly in the women’s division,” said Basketball England’s Delivery Manager for the Game, Gail Richards. “The quality of each division will provide some exciting games throughout the year, especially during the post-season and Finals events. We are looking forward to working with all our clubs to develop and enhance the sport’s competitive outlets, creating a great NBL experience for everyone involved.”

A full breakdown of the senior leagues is available using the button below. The Jnr. NBL structures will be released on Wednesday of this week (27/06/18).