2019 Volunteer Awards recognise some of the game's unsung stars

The 2019 Volunteer Awards proved to be a fantastic success as over 200 members from across the country came together in Manchester City’s Legends Suite for an evening of celebration and recognition for some of the game’s worthiest volunteers.

Overall, 14 awards were presented throughout the night followed by the Services to Basketball award, presented to recognise long and distinguished service to the game, with nominees having given at least 10 years of service before being considered for nomination. 11 winners were announced for this prestigious award, providing a fitting way to wrap up the night.

“Congratulations to all the people recognised during tonight’s event. It has been a fantastic way to acknowledge the kind of effort that helps our game to be such a success up and down the country. Grass roots basketball couldn’t operate without the type of people we have celebrated this evening, or the countless others who volunteer their time for the game.” said David Butler, Basketball England’s Delivery Director.

The awards process began with nominations being received in 14 categories, with winners in each category being crowned in each of Basketball England’s ten regions, ensuring that 140 people have had their voluntary service recognised this year. All regional winners were then put forward to this evening’s national awards before an overall winner was selected.

A complete list of winners from tonight’s awards are as follows:



Bev Guymon Inspiring Female

Siobhan Prior

Media/Photographer of the Year

Graham Hodges

School of the Year

Barking Abbey

Teacher of the Year

Russell Smith

Community Club of the Year

Haringey Sports Development

Dave Fisher Children's Coach of the Year

Philip Hughes

John Sage Coach of the Year

Clare Reed

Statistician of the Year

Andrea Boreland

Bill Taylor Table Official of the Year

Lindsay Chapman

KK Mitchell Young Official of the Year

Harvey West

Mary Clark Services to Officiating Award

Dave Durance & Vera Moses

Steve Lallament Referee of the Year

Roger Murie

Brian Dobson Young Volunteer of the Year

Dylan Consterdine

Harry Errington Volunteer of the Year

Jenny O'Neill


2019’s recipients of the Services to Basketball award were:

Mike Neal
Trevor Pountain
Rick Wooldridge
Andy Harrison-Beaumont
Mike Maddox
David Turner
Chris Bunnett
Danny James
Peter Dyke
Pat Smith
Sheffield Hatters Basketball Club

A gallery from tonight’s ceremony is available from the gallery below, and congratulations once again to all those recognised with awards.