Basketball England announce conclusion of 2019/20 NBL season

Team Solent Kestrels and Ipswich have been crowned Division One winners following a decision on the conclusion of the curtailed 2019/20 NBL regular season.

Solent completed an incredible unbeaten campaign on the Men’s league that also saw the team claim the National Cup and reach the Final of the BBL Trophy, whilst Ipswich topped the WNBL standings at 15-2, improving on their sixth-place finish from a year ago to grab the regular-season title.

The announcement follows the premature conclusion of the NBL regular season due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Basketball England have released details on how all NBL and Jnr. NBL competitions have been finalised for the 2019/20 season.


After analysis of a number of potential scenarios, it has been decided that for games cancelled due to the early end to the season, the number of points on offer would be divided equally between the two teams involved. This means one point per team for senior fixtures and two points per team for junior fixtures. This is covered further in the FAQs below.

This process applies to fixtures that were scheduled between 13 March (the date on which Basketball England suspended the playing season) and the end of the regular season. Games that were postponed before March 13 and had not been rearranged have been voided.

Basketball England CEO Stewart Kellett said: “After an uncertain and turbulent few weeks, we are pleased to announce the final standings for the NBL.

“All our leagues represent the amazing efforts of players, coaches, officials, volunteers, parents and guardians. The effect of the COVID-19 has had an extraordinary impact on us all and we were determined to find the fairest way to conclude the 2019/20 season.

“I hope you’ll join me in congratulating our league winners and recognise the efforts of our basketball community during what has been an unprecedented time.”

The following league winners have now been confirmed:


League Winner

League Runner Up

Division One Men

Team Solent Kestrels

Thames Valley Cavaliers

Division One Women


Anglia Ruskin University

Division Two Men - South

Essex Rebels

London Westside

Division Two Men - North

Team Newcastle University

Myerscough College

Division Two Women - South

Cardiff Met Archers


Division Two Women - North

Worcester Wolves

Derbyshire Diamonds

Division Three East

Northamptonshire Titans

Anglia Ruskin University

Division Three North

Lancashire Spinners

Newcastle Eagles U23

Division Three Midlands

Doncaster Eagles

City of Birmingham Rockets

Division Three South West

Oxford Brooks University

RCT Gladiators

Division Three South East

Richmond Knights

London Lewisham Thunder

There will be no Play-offs in either the senior or junior divisions.

Following the announcement of NBL and WNBL regular-season stat leaders last week, individual end-of-season awards have now been scheduled for the week commencing 6 April, with Coach of the Year, Team of the Year and MVP awards for all senior divisions.

Division Three awards will go live on Monday 6 April, with WNBL Division Two following on Tuesday 7. NBL Division Two honours will be announced on Wednesday 8, WNBL Division One on Thursday 9 before the week concludes with NBL Division One on Friday 10.

Coach of the Year will go live at 10am, Team of the Year at 12pm and MVP at 2pm on each of the above dates.

Final regular-season standings are available for all leagues by clicking the button below. Please be aware that only the final positions and points have been adjusted to be correct, and win/loss numbers won’t accurately reflect a team’s final points.

To view our FAQs on this decision, please click the button below and then scroll to the bottom of the page.