BBL Trophy: Four NBL teams enter for 2022/23

Derby, Nottingham, Worthing and Thames Valley have all accepted an invitation to join this season's BBL Trophy.

The quartet will all battle it out to topple defending champs Cheshire Phoenix when the competition gets underway on Friday 13 January 2023.

The teams will all be aiming to emulate NBL D1M side Team Solent Kestrels, who enjoyed a thrilling run to the final of the 2019/20 competition only to lose 96-94 in overtime against Newcastle Eagles.

Basketball Wales and Scottish side St Mirren will also be in the draw, taking the number of non-BBL teams in the competition to six overall.

D1M side Team Solent Kestrels made it to the final of the 2019/20 competition (Luke Simcock)

The BBL Trophy will begin in mid-January, with the final set to take place in late March. The exact date and venue will be confirmed in due course by the BBL.

Earlier this month, the BBL announced that 2022/23 Championship will follow a new format, with each side facing each other on four occasions throughout the campaign. You can read more about the changes to this year’s format across the Championship, Cup and Trophy by clicking HERE.

British Basketball fans can catch all of the action throughout the season on Sky Sports Arena, Sky Sports YouTube Channel and the BBL Player.

You can stay up to date with all the latest news from the BBL via as well as the league’s social media channels.

Main image credit - Luke Simcock