Academy Structures Announced for 2022/23

The 2022/23 EABL and WEABL structures have been announced. 

Both competitions will return once again with a North and South, two conference format, with 15 teams in the EABL and 11 in the WEABL.

In the EABL, last season’s playoff finalists Charnwood College Riders and Myerscough College head up the North conference, with all eight teams retaining their place for 2022/23.

The South Conference’s only final four representative from a year ago, Barking Abbey, also return, as do conference winners Oaklands College as they aim to top the seven-team line up once again.

Reigning WEABL champs City of London Academy are back, now known as City of London Academy – Southwark, and they head up a six-strong South Conference.

WEABL finalists and North Conference winners Nottingham Academy Wildcats will aim to be the team to beat in their group once again, which now comprises of five programmes.

The full lines ups for both leagues can be seen below:

Basketball England’s Senior Delivery Manager Gail Richards said: “As we continue to put the restrictions of COVID behind us, last season's EABL and WEABL campaigns were a big success.

“2022/23 is sure to be another highly competitive season, with rivalries and closely fought games taking place across the country, the sort of basketball the Academy leagues have become known for.

“As has been the case for a number of years now, I'm sure the leagues will also continue to be a valuable environment for players to develop both on and off the court as part of the Basketball England Talent Pathway.”