KitKing Trophy: Schedule and format set for newly-named competition

The newly-named KitKing Trophy for teams in Basketball England’s NBL Men's Division One is set to get under way this weekend. 

The competition will be organised by NBL1 Men's clubs in partnership with new naming rights holder and is sanctioned by BE. 

It will see all 14 NBL1 clubs, plus invited Division Two sides Charnwood Riders and Oaklands Wolves, compete in four regional groups of four.  

KitKing have supplied winning team wear to NGBs, professional and grassroots clubs throughout the UK, Ireland, Europe and beyond since 1992. They are the UK’s leading teamwear specialist with 30 years’ experience across more than 25 sports, including basketball. CEO Dips Patel said: 

“We are excited to partner with Basketball England’s NBL Division One clubs.  

“The sponsorship will help to support the competition and we are looking forward to working with the clubs individually for their kit needs and to help them grow their merchandising offers to fans and members.  

“It’s a really exciting time for basketball in the UK as the sport continues to grow and we’re really happy to be able to support Basketball England’s D1 clubs through this partnership.” 

Tim Brown, BE Board member and chair of Men’s Division One group, said: 

“I would like to thank for their support and we are really looking forward to taking the competition to new heights this season.  

“It’s an exciting time for the D1 men’s clubs as they continue to grow and move the league forward as a group with Basketball England’s support.” 

The group stages of the competition will be played on 17/18 September, 21 September and 24/25 September. 

The games will provide a curtain raiser to the Men’s NBL Division One season, which get under way on 15 October.  

Playing each other once, the top two sides in each group will progress to the quarter-finals (1/2 October) and semi-finals (8/9 October), with the final set to take place in late December. 

Group 1
17/09/2022 4pm Solent Kestrels Worthing Thunder 
18/09/2022 2pm London Lions II Solent Kestrels
18/09/2022 2pm Essex Rebels Worthing Thunder 
21/09/2022 7pm Essex Rebels London Lions II
24/09/2022 7.30pm Worthing Thunder  London Lions II
24/09/2022 4pm Solent Kestrels Essex Rebels
Group 2
17/09/2022 4.15pm Oaklands Wolves Thames Valley Cavaliers
18/09/2022 4pm Reading Rockets Westminster Warriors
21/09/2022 4pm Oaklands Wolves Reading Rockets
24/09/2022 6.30pm Thames Valley Cavaliers Reading Rockets
24/09/2022 7pm Oaklands Wolves Westminster Warriors
25/09/2022 4.30pm Thames Valley Cavaliers Westminster Warriors
Group 3
18/09/2022 6pm Hemel Storm Nottingham Hoods
21/09/2022 7pm Loughborough Riders Charnwood Riders
22/09/2022 8pm Nottingham Hoods Charnwood Riders
24/09/2022 7pm Hemel Storm Charnwood Riders
24/09/2022 12pm Nottingham Hoods Loughborough
25/09/2022 6.30pm Loughborough Riders  Hemel Storm
Group 4
17/09/2002 7.30pm Derby Trailblazers Manchester Magic
17/09/2022 6.15pm Bradford Dragons Newcastle University
18/09/2022 5pm Derby Trailblazers Bradford Dragons
24/09/2022 7pm Manchester Magic Bradford Dragons
24/09/2022 3pm Newcastle University Derby Trailblazers
25/09/2022 3pm Newcastle University Manchester Magic