WBBL Trophy: Three WNBL teams involved for 2022/23

CoLA Southwark Pride, Thames Valley Cavaliers and Ipswich will all take part in this season's WBBL Trophy.

The competition, officially renamed the Betty Cordona Trophy, will see 16 teams battling it out from early January.

Games will be played with a single-leg knockout bracket format featuring all WBBL teams and the three invited non-WBBL teams,. They begin on the weekend of 7/8 January.

The weekend of first-round matches to take place in a centralised venue that is still to be confirmed.

The final takes place in late March, with the official date and venue to be confirmed in due course.

CoLA captured a league and playoff double in D1W last season, dominating in pretty much every competition they entered a year ago. Thames Valley (15-7) and Ipswich (15-7) both enjoyed healthy regular-season returns, though neither was able to make it to the playoff final in Manchester.

The Trophy has been won by the London Lions for the last two seasons, with the pair of victories ending a run of three straight wins for the Leicester Riders. The tournament was first played in 2014/15, when Sheffield Hatters won.

British Basketball fans can catch all of the WBBL action throughout the season on Sky Sports Arena, Sky Sports YouTube Channel and the BBL Player.

You can stay up to date with all the latest news from the WBBL via bbl.org.uk as well as the league’s social media channels.

Main image credit - Graham Hodges