BBL Trophy: Four NBL teams to take part in 2021/22 competition

The NBL will again have a presence in the BBL Trophy with four teams invited to join the 2021/22 competition.

Team Solent Kestrels, finalists against Newcastle Eagles two seasons ago, will again take part in the top-flight event with Thames Valley Cavaliers, Hemel Storm and Derby Trailblazers from Division One joining them.

Sony Centre Fury (Scotland) and Basketball Wales will also take part as non-BBL teams.

It is a 16-team knockout competition, involving the 10 BBL teams and six invited non-BBL teams with the fixtures coming in a bracket format so clubs know their route after first round draw in early November.


First Round (Single Leg) – 07-09 January 2022
Quarter Finals (Single Leg) – 04-06 February 2022
Semi-Finals (Two Legged)– 04-06 March 2022
Final – Sunday 20 March 2022 @ Emirates Arena, Glasgow

Solent's Ian Smith in action against Newcastle - Luke Simcock

BBL fixtures

The announcement comes as all the BBL fixtures and dates for 2021/22 are released.

After a delayed start to last season, the 2021/22 season will return to its traditional tip-off of late September with the new season commencing on Friday 24 September 2021 with the Cup Group Stages.

Following the five weeks of Cup games, the BBL Championship will then tip off on Friday 29 October 2021, and the First Round of the BBL Trophy will open the New Year on 07 January 2022.

The first Final will take place on Sunday 30 January 2022, at the Utilita Arena Birmingham with the BBL Cup Final, followed by the BBL Trophy Final on Sunday 20 March 2022, at Emirates Arena, Glasgow, and the season will conclude with the BBL Play-Offs Final on Sunday 15 May 2022 at The O2, London.

Please find below links to PDF copies of the full fixtures:

Fixtures by club HERE
Fixtures by date HERE

All fixtures are subject to change.

BBL Championship

Each team playing each other three times (2H 1A / 1H 2A). 27 games per club.


Cup Group Stages will consist of two groups of five split geographically. The groups are:

North: Cheshire Phoenix, Glasgow Rocks, Manchester Giants, Newcastle Eagles, B. Braun Sheffield Sharks
South: Bristol Flyers, Leicester Riders, London Lions, Plymouth Raiders, Surrey Scorchers

Each team plays each other team in their group home AND away.

Only the bottom placed team will be eliminated from each of the groups, with the Quarter Final places determined as follows:

North Winner v South 4th
South Winner v North 4th
North RU v South 3rd
South RU v North 3rd

Quarter-Finals (Single Leg) – 12-14 November 2021
Semi-Finals (Open Draw – 2 Legged) – 10-12 December 2021
Final – Sunday 30 January 2022, @ Utilita Arena Birmingham