NBL: 2020/21 award nominations announced

The nomination lists have been finalised for the 2020/21 NBL end-of-season awards.

After announcing yesterday that this year’s award process was now underway, D1M clubs have returned their suggestions for which of their own players they think should be in the running for each accolade.

Those nominated players have now been listed alongside the relevant stats for all clubs to vote on, with the winners set to be announced from 10 May onwards.

That also means that NBL fans across the country can take a look at which players are in the running and have their say on who they think should take each award.


Hemel’s Greg Poleon, Thames Valley’s Taylor Johnson and Hakeem Sylla plus the Solent trio of Travis Charles, Orlan Jackman and Ian Smith highlight the nomination list for D1M’s Wilson Player of the Year award, with the NBL Team of the Year being compiled using the MVP and then the next four most voted for players.

Jackman, Leicester’s Mo Williams and Loughborough’s Kyle Jimenez head up the potential picks for British Team of the Year, whilst Bradford’s Great Osobor, Derby’s Blake Bowman and Essex’s Ethan Price are all in the race for Young (U19) Player of the Year.

Players nominated for the above awards have all been provided with an adjusted efficiency rating, which take’s individual efficiency across the season and multiplies it by team win percentage. This is done to highlight not only which players have performed the best statistically, but who’s efforts have also helped their team to win.

Solent's Ian Smith won the D1M Player of the Year award in 2019/20 (Luke Simcock)

Have your say

Defensive Player of the Year has also been shortlisted, with average steals plus blocks considered for all. Oaklands’ AJ Roberts, Worthing’s Zaire Taylor and Reading’s Reis Pinnock lead the nominations there, but no doubt NBL coaches will have seen plenty of defensive efforts this season that don’t show up statistically.

As the top two sides in division, Solent’s Matt Guymon and Thames Valley’s Robert Banks are both in with a strong case for claiming this season’s Wilson Coach of the Year Award, and there will also be a vote between all clubs on which team has provided the best live streaming this year.

If you want to have your say your potential NBL award winners, head over to our social media channels using the buttons below.

All awards will be announced week commencing 10 May 2021, and the nomination lists for this season’s WNBL awards will be available in the first week of May.