WBBL: Fixtures & dates confirmed for eighth league season

The WBBL has confirmed the fixtures and dates for the eighth season of the Women’s British Basketball League.

Following the recent announcement of the return of Sheffield Hatters to the WBBL, along with the addition of new WBBL franchise Gloucester City Queens, the League will be progressing with 13 teams, the largest number the WBBL has had in its history.

The 2021-22 season will commence on 24 September 2021 for a spectacular opening weekend consisting of the WBBL Cup group stages. Each group's games will be hosted at one central venue, with each host venue yet to be confirmed.

The Championship will then tip off a week later on 2 October 2021, and following a break for the Christmas and New Year period, the season will recommence on 8 January 2022.

The first Final will take place on Sunday 30 January 2022, at the Utilita Arena Birmingham with the WBBL Cup Final, followed by the WBBL Trophy Final on Sunday 20 March 2022, at Emirates Arena, Glasgow, and the season will conclude with the WBBL Play-Offs Final on Sunday 15 May 2022 at The O2, London.

Fixtures by Club
Fixtures by Date

All fixtures are subject to change.

WBBL Championship

Each team playing each other home AND away (12H 12A per club).


Cup Group Stages will consist of three groups of three and one group of four (split geographically):

Group A – Caledonia Pride, Durham Palatinates, Newcastle Eagles
Group B – Manchester Met Mystics, Nottingham Wildcats, Sheffield Hatters
Group C – Cardiff Met Archers, Gloucester City Queens, Leicester Riders, Oaklands Wolves
Group D – Essex Rebels, London Lions, Sevenoaks Suns

Each team plays each other team in their group once.

Group Stages will be hosted as an Opening Weekend (24-26 September) to commence the season and each group’s games will be hosted at a central venue of one hosting team.

The winners of each group will progress through to the Semi-Finals, which ties are assigned by as below:

Group A Winner v Group C Winner
Group B Winner v Group D Winner

Semi-Finals – 20-21 November 2021
Final – Sunday 30 January 2022, @ Utilita Arena Birmingham

WBBL Trophy

A straight knockout competition.

The teams who placed 1st-3rd in the 2020-21 WBBL Championship will receive a bye into the Quarter Finals. Those teams are:

Sevenoaks Suns
Leicester Riders
London Lions

The remaining ten teams will make up the First Round, with ties assigned by seeding (since Sheffield have re-entered this season and Gloucester have joined, for these purposes they will be noted as the ‘12th’ and ‘13th’ seed from 2020-21):

First Round
Nottingham Wildcats (4th) v Gloucester City Queens (13th)
Manchester Met Mystics (5th) v Sheffield Hatters (12th)
Essex Rebels (6th) v Caledonia Pride (11th)
Newcastle Eagles (7th) v Durham Palatinates (10th)
Oaklands Wolves (8th) v Cardiff Met Archers (9th)

Quarter Finals – 05-06 February 2022
Semi-Finals– 05-06 March 2022
Final – Sunday 20 March 2022, @ Emirates Arena, Glasgow

Keep across #BritishBasketball and WBBL channels for all news and updates