WNBL: 2020/21 award nominations announced

The nomination lists have been finalised for the 2020/21 WNBL end-of-season awards.

D1W clubs have returned their suggestions for which of their own players they think should be in the running for each accolade and voting is now under way.

Those nominated players have now been listed alongside the relevant stats for all clubs to make their decisions, with the winners set to be announced from 24 May onwards.

That also means  WNBL fans across the country can take a look at which players are in the running and have their say on who they think should take each award.

Leading candidates

Ipswich duo Esther Little and Harriet Welham highlight a strong field for this year's Wilson Player of the Year award based on their adjusted efficiency ratings, with Loughborough's Makana Stone, CoLA's Isi Ozzy-Momodu and Nottingham's Schekinah Bimpa rounding out the top five.

For reference, the WNBL Team of the Year is compiled using the Player of the Year and then the next four most voted for players.

Little, Welham and Ozzy-Momodu are also standout choices for the British Team of the Year, with Loughborough's Katie Januszewska and CoLA's Molly Lavin also part of that discussion.

Little could be a popular selection for multiple awards this year as the talented wing is also in the running for Young (U19) Player of the Year, with Ipswich teammate Cameron Taylor-Willis plus Januszewska, Reading's Sitota Gines Espinosa and Solen't Faye Endean also expected to challenge.

Players nominated for the above awards have all been provided with an adjusted efficiency rating, which take’s individual efficiency across the season and multiplies it by team win percentage. This is done to highlight not only which players have performed the best statistically, but who’s efforts have also helped their team to win.

Ipswich's Esther Little in action (Luke Simcock)

Have your say

Defensive Player of the Year has also been shortlisted, with average steals plus blocks considered for all. Rockets' star Gines Espinosa averaged a league-leading 5.2 steals per game in the regular season and that clip helps her lead the nominations, but no doubt WNBL coaches will have seen plenty of defensive efforts this season that don’t show up statistically.

Regular-season title winner Nick Drane is likely to be a strong candidate for Wilson Coach of the Year Award after leading Ipswich to an 16-2 record, though CoLA's late season charge to second spot may well push coach Jackson Gibbons into the reckoning.

There will also be a vote between all clubs on which team has provided the best live streaming this year.

If you want to have your say on the potential WNBL award winners, head over to our social media channels using the buttons below.

All awards will be announced week commencing 24 May 2021.