2023/24 NBL Awards week: NBL Division Two

NBL Awards Week continues, with NBL Division Two next up.

Following on from Monday's D3 announcement and D2W yesterday, it's time for another competition from the Men's side today.

Based on performances across the regular season, we'll also be announcing the WNBL Division One awards tomorrow before NBL Division One on Friday ahead of this weekend's Senior Playoff Finals at Manchester's National Basketball Performance Centre.

To secure your tickets, click the button below.

Wilson Player of the Year

Bristol Hurricanes' Daniel Edozie and Milton Keynes' Jordan Spencer are this season's Player of the Year winners.

The pair of ex-BBLers both played an integral part in their respective team's regular season success, with Bristol claiming top spot in the North as the Breakers did the same in the South.

Edozie put together a solid campaign that ranked in the top three for efficiency across D2M, averaging 15.6PPG, 14.4RPG as a regular double-double candidate.

The 2018 Commonwealth Games man also shot at an impressive 53.3% across the campaign, tacking on a handy 4.1APG for good measure.

Spencer has been lights out throughout 2023/24, and his 20.6PPG, 12.0APG and 2.7SPG are all top ten marks.

Adding 8.0RPG to average not far off a triple-double on the season, the MK captain was a unanimous POTY selection this year.

Wilson Coach of the Year

Manchester may not have won the North conference, coming in third with a 14-8 record, but Magic head coach Peter Paraskeva did more than enough to impress his fellow coaches to nab yearly honours.

Paraskeva managed to get the best out of the likes of Tyme Regent-Bascombe, Andre Gayle, Dan Davies and more, securing a post-season berth in the process.

Likewise in the South, it wasn't to be for Team Solent Kestrels as they chased top spot, pipped to the post by Milton Keynes, but that hasn't stopped Matt Guymon from being selected as the conference's Coach of the Year.

The former D1M winner showed his continue pedigree by marshalling the Kestrels to a 21-1 record, only missing out on #1 on a head-to-head tiebreaker.

D2M Team of the Year

North MVP Edozie is joined by Myerscough's young star Tyrese Lacey (19.2PPG, 8.4APG, 6.3RPG, 3.6SPG), who also gets a nod.

Derbyshire Arrows' Hamza Ibrahim (25.3PPG, 11.3RPG) led all D2 scorers this year and earns a spot, with Teesside Lions' Thomas Horvat (21.1PPG, 6.5RPG, 4.1APG) also making the cut.

St Helens Saints Connor Murtagh (23.2PPG, 4.8RPG) rounds out the five.

The South's picks are dominated by the top two, with Jordan Spencer and Chris Tawiah (12.5PPG, 6.2RPG) both making the grade from Milton Keynes.

Solent's Isa Brandon (23.5PPG, 9.4RPG, 3.7APG, 2.8SPG) and Russell Gariepy (16.2PPG, 5.7RPG, 3.4APG) are both involved, with Cardiff Met Archers' Dan Flaherty (21.7PPG, 5.6RPG, 2.4SPG) the only man able to break the MK/TSK dominance.

British Team of the Year

Highlighting the standard of British talent plying their trade in the second tier, Edozie, Lacey, Murtagh and Ibrahim all take up spots in the British Team of the Year after being selected in the side above.

That just leaves Manchester's Tyme Regent-Bascombe (13.7PPG, 8.2RPG) to take up one of the remaining spot.

Likewise, the South conference side sees a pair of familiar faces return, with Spencer and Tawiah both repeating for MK.

Solent's duo are replaced by Elliot Dadds (13.4PPG, 6.5RPG, 3.9APG) and Ashley Briggs (11.3PPG, 6.0RPG, 9.1APG, 2.7SPG), with Cobham Scorchers' Oliver Stanley (17.1PPG, 13.4RPG) this time charged with preventing a lockout by the top two.

Defensive Player of the Year

With plenty of defensive work failing to show up on stat sheet, it’s always interesting to see who catches the eye defensively for coaches across the league.

In the North conference, it's a repeat for Worcester Wolves as Humberto Ferreira has followed up last year's winner Wilfrid Santhe.

With a team-high 2.5SPG and 3.3 defensive boards per outing, Ferreira played his part for a Wolves team than allowed just 75.1PPG across their 10-12 campaign.

In the South, the familiar theme continues as Team Solent Kestrels' Isa Brandon picks up DPOTY.

Solent allowed a D2 second-best 68.7PPG, with Brandon nabbing 2.9SPG to go with 6.3DRPG as an integral piece of what his team does on D.

Young Player of the Year

Awarded to players aged 19 and under, Myerscough go back-to-back with another Young Player of the Year recipient as Tyrese Lacey following up from 2022/23 winner Peter Asante.

Given Lacey's selection to both Teams of the Year, it's no surprise to see him here as well given his 19.2PPG, 8.4APG, 6.3RPG, 3.6SPG output across the campaign.

Milton Keynes' Buai Luak is the winner in the South.

Luak played valuable minutes for the regular season champs, closing with stats of 7.3PPG, 4.4RPG and 60% FG.

Best Game Day Experience

For the second year in a row, Worcester Wolves were runaway winners for the North conference's Best Game Day Experience award.

Once again collecting the most votes and the most first place picks, the West Midlands side combined a solid following with a great time at their home games to give the Wolves a boost whenever they took to their own court.

In the South, Team Solent Kestrels were named as the winners.

Solent Sports Complex has been held in high regard by fans from far an wide for a number of seasons now, with 2023/24 being no exception as the Kestrels secured yet another accolade.


As with the awards from previous seasons, each head coach from across the two conferences was invited to nominate a selection of their own players that they considered in the running for each accolade.

Each shortlist was then compiled centrally and sent back to the club's involved, and each head coach was given the opportunity to allocate their votes across this year's shortlist (with teams unable to vote for their own players).

A first place vote was worth three points, a second place vote was worth two points, and a third place vote was worth one point, and the recipient with the highest number of points was the winner.

For Player of the Year, Team of the Year and British Team of the Year, coaches were given five votes to distribute rather than just three.

Senior Playoff Finals

Today's awards continue the week of NBL and WNBL end of season honours in the lead up to this weekend's senior playoff finals at the National Basketball Performance Centre in Manchester.

To purchase tickets for the event, please click the button below. Coverage of the event will be available through our NBL social channels, as will the remaining awards from the rest of this week.