KitKing Trophy 2023/24: Schedule and format set for this year's competition

The KitKing Trophy for teams in Basketball England’s NBL Men's Division One is set to return in September. 

The competition will again be organised by NBL1 Men's clubs in partnership with naming rights holder and BE.  

It will see all 13 NBL1 clubs, plus a trio of invited Division Two sides, competing in four regional groups of four.   

The additional Division Two teams for 2023/24 are last season's NBL Division Three playoff champs Milton Keynes Breakers, who topped a number of NBL Division One sides as part of a lengthy National Cup run a year ago, and former NBL D1 winners Manchester Magic, who were relegated from the top flight at the end of last season. 

And Brighton Bears, also of Division Two, are a late addition to the competition, replacing Team Solent Kestrels, who have withdrawn following the announcement that they will opt out of Division One in the 2023/23 season.

Holders Hemel Storm will defend their title. 

KitKing have supplied winning team wear to NGBs, professional and grassroots clubs throughout the UK, Ireland, Europe and beyond since 1992. They are the UK’s leading teamwear specialist with 30 years’ experience across more than 25 sports, including basketball.  CEO Dips Patel said:  

“We are excited to continue our partnership with Basketball England’s NBL Division One clubs.  

“Last season's competition was a big success and our sponsorship will further extend our help and support of the Trophy in 2022/23.  

“It’s an exciting time for the sport in the UK as basketball continues to grow. We’re pleased to be a part of that, and to be able to support Basketball England’s D1 clubs through this partnership.” 

Tim Brown, chair of the Men’s Division One group, said: 

“I would like to thank for their ongoing support as we push the competition from strength-to-strength. 

“The D1 men’s clubs are continuing to grow and move the league forward as a group with Basketball England’s support, making this an exciting time for both the sport and the Trophy itself.” 

The group stages of the competition will be played from 16 September through to 24 September, with the 16 contenders split into four groups of four teams.  

Playing each other once, the top two sides in each group will progress to the quarter-finals on 30 September/1 October, then semi-finals, with the final set to take place later in the year. 

The games will provide a curtain raiser to the Men’s NBL Division One season, which gets under way in October.   


Group 1
16/09/2023 2pm Reading Rockets     Worthing Thunder 
16/09/2023 2pm Barking Abbey     Brighton Bears
17/09/2023 5pm Worthing Thunder      Barking Abbey
23/09/2023 2.30pm Brighton Bears   Reading Rockets
24/09/2023 5pm Worthing Thunder      Brighton Bears
24/09/2023 4pm Reading Rockets     Barking Abbey
Group 2
17/09/2023 6pm Hemel Storm   v   Essex Rebels
21/09/2023 7pm Thames Valley Cavaliers v   London Elite
23/09/2023 4pm Essex Rebels   v   Thames Valley Cavaliers
23/09/2023 7pm Hemel Storm   v   London Elite
24/09/2023 3pm London Elite    v   Essex Rebels
24/09/2023 3pm Thames Valley Cavaliers v   Hemel Storm
Group 3
16/09/2023 7.30pm Birmingham Rockets   Nottingham Hoods
17/09/2023 6pm Milton Keynes Breakers   Nottingham Hoods
17/09/2023 4pm Loughborough     Birmingham Rockets
23/09/2023 7pm Birmingham Rockets   Milton Keynes Breakers
23/09/2023 6.30pm Nottingham Hoods     Loughborough
24/09/2023 4pm Loughborough     Milton Keynes Breakers
Group 4
16/09/2023 7.30pm Derby Trailblazers     Manchester Magic
16/09/2023 6.15pm Bradford Dragons     Newcastle University
17/09/2023 3pm Newcastle University   Manchester Magic
23/09/2023 7pm Manchester Magic     Bradford Dragons
23/09/2023 3pm Newcastle University   Derby Trailblazers
24/09/2023 5.30pm Derby Trailblazers     Bradford Dragons